Sep. 28th, 2003

So, I just got back from seeing Underworld, with [livejournal.com profile] polysciguy, [livejournal.com profile] numfar, and [livejournal.com profile] rkelly. Yes, I ignored all the warnings, because A) I am silly, and B) I haven't really been to the movies since seeing Pirates of the Caribbean, IIRC. I didn't find it to be as terrible as I'd heard, but it's not the stuff of legends, either.

For instance: the male lead, that guy from Felicity? SO. BLAND. And not pretty at all, either. He'd do better to just call himself Blandy McBlands from now on. I think my favourite parts were costuming and decor, really--I mean, like the movie or not, the vampires' mansion was pretty damned cool. And it was a lovely outing, regardless of the movie, so who cares? :D

Anyhoo, I'm pretty sleepy right now, because I couldn't fall asleep last night. My sleep schedule was still a bit out of whack, you see. I'm hoping to find someone who will take my shift at the Comet tonight, because no way in hell do I want to go through the first day of my last term on 4 hours of sleep or less. Somebody have mercy on meeeee ;_;

Sigh. I think I'll do some laundry, eh?

EDIT: Somebody took my shift!! BLESSED SLEEP AT LAST ;_;

ARGH x_x

Sep. 28th, 2003 06:11 pm
batskeets: (j)
<rant>

I am starting to seriously wonder how anyone can be expected to line up a Real Job™ while they're still in school. See, I've been making some good attempts, but have had little-to-no success so far. And interestingly, the few places that have given any explanation as to why I haven't been hired/interviewed have cited the fact that my hours are "limited".

The hell?? I only have three more months of school! I could even cut down my schedule to 8 credits, if they wanted me to! That'd be *maybe* 10 hours a week that I'd have to spend in the classroom! And I'm already accustomed to working 25-30 hours/week with a full courseload (read: closer to 20 hours in the classroom, + homework), so it's not as though I couldn't handle it.

I didn't think it'd be such a huge problem that I have a whole three months of school left. I've heard about many kids starting their job hunt, maybe 6-9 *months* before graduating college, but how often does it actually succeed? How can anyone be expected to have a job immediately out of college, when nobody will hire you until *after* you graduate?

And of course, now I'll have to keep looking while classes are in session. FANTASTIC. I think we have a good idea of how successful that's going to be. :p

Somebody, please make sense out of this "job" thing for me. It's starting to drive me completely batshit.

</rant>

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 02:05 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios