Today has been a day for RENT earworms that are strangely related to my current life circumstances, heh.

Saturday filled up more than I expected, but I did still manage to get a lot of work done. Outside of the work, there was brunch with [livejournal.com profile] bellybalt, a successful senior rep interview, and pint-clanking at Horse Brass and a spontaneous midnight bike ride, with [livejournal.com profile] katlyn as my substitute not-date. But hey, her company is *always* good, not to mention less terrifying than an internet date. ;)

I had a surprising amount of fun volunteering at the Organic Brewfest on Sunday. I chose to pour the Acai Berry Wheat ale from Eel River Brewing, just because it sounded unusual, but I wound up pouring both that and Eel River's IPA. The Acai Berry Wheat was massively popular, however, and my line was huge for most of my shift. Fortunately, I managed to get off-shift and make it through the gigantic line, just in time to get a sample of it for myself before it ran out. I really enjoy this brewfest; it's very laid-back, inexpensive, and there's a nice selection of excellent beer.

Then there was swimming! It felt amazing to hit that water, after hanging around outside on such a hot day. And then [livejournal.com profile] _dilate_ had a few of us over to eat nachos and watch True Blood. I brought my bike with me and wound up biking a fair bit on this day, too, and it was really, really nice. This needs to happen more often.

I also finally saw [livejournal.com profile] archmage's new place last night, when I wandered up that way with [livejournal.com profile] daemonwise. I am also continually amazed by the sheer volume of hilarious gaming stories they have to share.

And OOPS I'm out of time. That's kind of been the way of things, as of late.

SO TIRED

Jun. 22nd, 2010 03:38 pm
I stayed out way too late for a Monday, which is completely my own fault. And then, my body said, "hey, let's wake up an hour before the alarm today!" But hell, it was worth it.

Last night was the Dandy Warhols Bike Ride and Karaoke Extravaganza, which I decided to head over to after work. I've been too overbooked to do any of this year's Pedalpalooza rides prior, but this one was pretty awesome. We cruised around to different spots around PDX where albums were recorded and videos were shot, and the organizers gave us little factoids about the significance of each place where we stopped. The particularly cool part was that one of the band members (Zia) was with us for the entire ride, so she'd interject with random corrections or insider details to go with the information the organizers told us.

We ended the ride at Dante's, where the Dandys had shot one of their videos, and had a little karaoke contest. They only karaoke version the organizers managed to track down was Bohemian Like You, which was, um, NOT one of the songs I knew well. Or at all. XD But, I'm never one to shy away from karaoke OR free swag, so I listened to a couple other folks do it first, and listened to a verse from the original recording through my futurephone, and then attempted to fake my way through it. Apparently, my efforts were good enough that Zia awarded me a Dandys t-shirt! WIN.

I also had a sort-of-date from the internet after the ride, which was okay, too. I don't think I want anything beyond friendship with this person, but I did have a good time, at least, and I didn't feel like a total clod while trying to make conversation. And biking home down Hawthorne is much nicer at night than it is during my usual commute time.

I don't know how I'm going to get through wushu tonight, but I'll certainly try. And then, I am going to sleep the sleep of the dead. Anyone who wakes me could very easily get punched in the throat. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

And, in conclusion, I've been left with the overwhelming feeling that I need a much cooler bike and helmet. Maybe I'll actually do something about that, eventually.
Well, I'm now up to two bike commutes this week, which is more than I've done in a single week in quite a while. I'm already consistently using higher gears on the ride than I used to, and not having to downshift for the hills. This fills me with joy, because this *must* mean that at least some of my gym time is translating into functional strength. YES. List item #10, I'mma get you!

In other news, I realized last night that I've never actually asked a guy out to his face. It's always been via text message or e-mail, and even accounting for the Passive Female social construct, that seems a little sad. I suppose it could be argued that I'm ahead of the game by even asking them out at all, but it still feels silly to be shying away from the direct approach, especially now that I'm 30-freakin'-years-old.

Maybe it's just a unique-to-Portland phenomenon, but being direct seems to be an increasingly difficult challenge in the existing social context. And I certainly don't exclude myself from this sample: even without particularly meaning to, I apparently make myself at least as unapproachable as anyone else in this town. (hence, why people rarely hit on me) I do tend to gripe about those who don't say what they actually mean, so I'd ideally like to be able to say what *I* mean. But, it's almost as if directness happens so rarely that nobody is prepared to accept it when it *does* happen.

Anyhoo, stayed out late last night after LOST at the Bagdad, for beer and Pita Pit, and it was relaxed-and-groovy fun. I need to make better friends with the Hawthorne area soon, because I haven't actually *been* to that many bars or cafes along there. Oh, and last night's LOST episode had me laughing in the best way possible. Oh, Doctor Linus!

Tonight is Two Gents rehearsal, which should be good. I'm half-contemplating memorizing my dialogue, but knowing me, time will probably get away on that front. Eh, maybe I can steal an hour during Hood Canal to work on it.

And, the brain fog has finally left me. Not a moment too soon!
So I heard about this "30 Before 30" thing, and naturally, I like it, because I like lists. But, I'm already 30, so making such a list for myself would no longer be possible, right?

WRONG. I now declare this the 30 DURING 30 LIST. Here is the first half, in no particular order:

1. Read at least 30 books.
There are way too many things I want to read, and I'm also hoping that, if I read more, maybe I'll re-learn how to digest books quickly the way I used to. I figure, if I have to do one a month for book club, that's 12, so the rest is up to me.

2. Get myself a damned art show.
You know what? I *have* the photographs. And I'm taking more and better photos all the time. I don't care if it's a rinky-dink thing at a local Starbucks, I just need to get my work on display. This is long overdue.

3. Backpacking Trip.
I have never done this, partly due to lack of gear, and also partly due to doubting that I'd have the stamina for long hikes with gear on my back. Clearly, a few day hikes are in order before I can do this. And learning how to pee in nature without making a mess out of myself would probably also be a prerequisite. ;p

4. Lose 20 lbs.
The eternal goal, I know. Stupid body. But I got halfway there last year. And then I went to China and gained some back because, duh, vacation. And then I got back to the halfway mark again. And then my knee decided to start being a jerk, and around the same time, most other parts of my life went straight down the crapper. Medicating with food and alcohol is bad, but I think it's finally behind me. I can do this.

5. Run a 9-minute mile consistently.
I can bust out a 10-minute mile pretty well most days, as long as my knee isn't giving me grief. And, according to Mr. Treadmill, I've done a 9-minute mile once or twice, but it was sandwiched between two miles at a slower pace. To keep a 9-minute pace through a whole run? I WANT THAT.

6. Register for and run a 10K or possibly a half-marathon.
Whether it's a 10K or a Half depends entirely on my knee. I can do a 5K consistently, so a 10K would still be a challenge. But, if my knee holds up well enough for #4 and #5 to happen, I am absolutely going for the Half.

7. Japan.
This has needed to happen for what, ten YEARS? I think this year may be the one.

8. ROLLER DERBY.
I am SO going to try this. Some Saturday, I'm going to buy the pads and such, and then go there and roll around the track crashing into things spectacularly. But I'm convinced it'll be fun.

9. More bike rides that are not my current morning commute.
I really enjoyed my bike wanderings a couple Sundays ago, and when I take the "long way" home from work, I love it so much more. Biking down Hawthorne to work, with cars whizzing past me? Just doesn't compare.

10. Get better at biking.
Yeah, I know, I've been saying this for a while. But I should make it happen. Maybe then, I could A) go on longer rides, and B) take a less-direct and more enjoyable route to work. And maybe even C) have fewer knee problems because it will give me Quads of Steel.

11. Grow edible things in my yard.
Even though it was not my construction project to begin with, that greenhouse in the backyard has been sitting there unfinished long enough for me to know that it's obviously not going to be completed unless I make it happen.

12. Learn to Fight For Reals
I'm still not certain if this'll be in the form of traditional kung fu, or muay thai, or something else entirely. But, if I'm going to jumpkick the heads off of undead creatures when the zombie apocalypse hits, I'd better know how to do it right and proper. ;)

13. Take more photos of friends.
This is kind of a hard one, at times, because it's difficult for me to enjoy being in a moment while I'm photographing it. But, it's also wonderful to look back at those spontaneous moments of happy. Finding the balance will be tricky, but I suspect it'll be worth it.

14. Audition and get into a play.
We've been rehearsing for the Two Gents reading, and I've been having a *lot* of fun with it thus far. And it is, of course, making me miss acting. Whatever show I get into doesn't have to be anything big, I'm just in it for a fun ride.

15. Accumulate enough events to compete for All-Around Champion at Berkeley.
Assuming next year's tournament isn't scheduled after my birthday, this *should* be doable, if I nag Master Chen enough. I already have Nanquan and Nandao, and even if my Nangun form isn't competition-length yet, at least I've worked on that skillset. So, all I *really* need to learn from scratch is an additional empty hand form. My odds of winning the title are probably close to zero, but it'd be so fantastic to simply be able to say that I went for it.

Yar!

Jun. 18th, 2007 11:18 am
batskeets: (yan!)
Okay, it's COLD outside. And it's even colder in my office. That needs to stop!

Plunderathon was pretty awesome. (pictures coming whenever Amy sends them) There were apparently over 250 pirates in attendance, over the course of the evening, and all the pubs we stopped at were more than prepared for us! One place had a pirate-themed band play for us, another gave us complimentary appetizers, yet another had a huge batch of (again, complimentary) rum punch waiting for us. Having that many pirates in one place is pretty hilarious, and there were some pretty funny little games and tricked-out costumes.

The only crappy part? Some power-tripping door guy at the Fez decided that he didn't believe Ben was over-21, and even tried to confiscate his ID! Never mind that Ben turns 26 in less than a month, he had a legit and unexpired Oregon driver's license, and he'd also been hanging with all the other equally-or-more-drunk-than-him pirates since 3:30 in the afternoon. -_-; So, we called it quits early, but otherwise, good times all around!

Wushu was pretty good over the weekend. I was late to class on Friday, thanks to the delayed and painfully slow streetcar, but I got to start on a basic but new-to-me straightsword form in yellow/green belt class. Saturday was also unexpectedly fun: after I got done with white belt class, Master Gao asked me if I wanted to practice with the yellow/green belt folks. :D We only got through kicks and jumps before I had to leave, but it was a pleasant surprise, and hopefully a continuing trend.

The runway show casting was right between wushu and Plunderathon, so I hustled on over for that, and it sounds like it's going to be pretty fun. They're going to have a runway set up on the roof of the venue, and lots of food and rock music, so I'm looking forward to it.

No rafting happened on Sunday, but I went to the Church of Craft meeting; the group skewed older, but they were nice, friendly ladies, and there was some impressive crafting going on. The official project of the session was "shrine wallets," and maybe I'll post a picture of mine once it's done. The coffee house where they held the meeting was also pretty funky and cool, and the whole space was basically reserved for the craft group. I may have to stop in there sometime, when they're actually open for business. :) I think I'm going to look into some knitting groups, next.

Oh yeah, and I got my bike back from the shop, and it's doing tons better. We went out for a nice, long ride on Friday night, after we picked up the bikes, and explored the area near Smith and Bybee lakes. There's also a 40-mile bike path that loops all around Portland, so we might have to make a day of that sometime!

That's all!
As sick as I am of hearing about her, I do have to cheer: Paris is going back to jaaaaail! She basically just goes around being a rich and drunk waste of life all the time, so bah, serves her right!

Speaking of dumb famous people, I have to mention this whole "dress over pants" fad that seems to be seizing the fashion world, as evidenced by this and many other entries on Go Fug Yourself. Frilly dresses look really funny with jeans. *Maybe* you can get away with formal pants, but even that's pushing it.

The only time the look works at all is when the dress is short enough that it looks more like a really long shirt. Dresses are expensive, compared to your average shirt, blouse, halter top, or whatever else. So why not just wear the pants, and then... BUY A DAMNED SHIRT?

Of course, as [livejournal.com profile] shannidee and anyone else who knew me then can attest, I was rocking that dress-over-pants look... in 1994. I also didn't buy my own clothes yet, hated my legs with all the irrationality of a growing adolescent, and didn't want to give up the practical splendor of pockets for some silly dress. (what, you expect me to carry some prissy handbag around to all my 9th grade classes? Pshaw.)

But, yes, basically, a spazmo 14-year-old who was *never* on the bleeding edge of fashion already tired and fired this fad, and it should already be long dead. Please cease wearing ugly things and cultivate some taste. Kthxbye.

In other news? I biked to work this morning, and there was a guy set up on the Broadway Bridge, offering free coffee and muffins for bikers! Turns out it was part of the kick-off for this Pedalpalooza thing, which is basically two whole weeks of bike-riding events. I am *definitely* going to the bike shop tomorrow to get my ride fixed up, so maybe I can actually go to some of them.

On a less positive note, I've learned, sadly, that my landlady is apparently VERY anti-Dog. As in, if I were to dog-sit Gizmo for 2 weeks, she'd evict us all, as she outlined in the lease. Of course, Thomas (roommate) is the actual holder of the lease, so I didn't find that out until last night. Baaaahhh. I was looking forward to Gizmo-sitting, too. :p

Anyway, woohoo weekend! Tonight? No idea. Possibly an epic bonanza of vegan baking, because the food plans have been awesome so far! (we made this last night and it was very yummy) The weekend is pretty much open, and we might go sailing at some point. Maybe taking pictures at the Dragon Boat races, too. Whatever, I'm just ready to kick back and enjoy!

P.S. No, I am not becoming vegan. (seriously, the lack of cheese would make me cry) But those crazy vegans make some damned wholesome *and* tasty baked things, noawadays.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 06:40 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios