Jun. 8th, 2007

As sick as I am of hearing about her, I do have to cheer: Paris is going back to jaaaaail! She basically just goes around being a rich and drunk waste of life all the time, so bah, serves her right!

Speaking of dumb famous people, I have to mention this whole "dress over pants" fad that seems to be seizing the fashion world, as evidenced by this and many other entries on Go Fug Yourself. Frilly dresses look really funny with jeans. *Maybe* you can get away with formal pants, but even that's pushing it.

The only time the look works at all is when the dress is short enough that it looks more like a really long shirt. Dresses are expensive, compared to your average shirt, blouse, halter top, or whatever else. So why not just wear the pants, and then... BUY A DAMNED SHIRT?

Of course, as [livejournal.com profile] shannidee and anyone else who knew me then can attest, I was rocking that dress-over-pants look... in 1994. I also didn't buy my own clothes yet, hated my legs with all the irrationality of a growing adolescent, and didn't want to give up the practical splendor of pockets for some silly dress. (what, you expect me to carry some prissy handbag around to all my 9th grade classes? Pshaw.)

But, yes, basically, a spazmo 14-year-old who was *never* on the bleeding edge of fashion already tired and fired this fad, and it should already be long dead. Please cease wearing ugly things and cultivate some taste. Kthxbye.

In other news? I biked to work this morning, and there was a guy set up on the Broadway Bridge, offering free coffee and muffins for bikers! Turns out it was part of the kick-off for this Pedalpalooza thing, which is basically two whole weeks of bike-riding events. I am *definitely* going to the bike shop tomorrow to get my ride fixed up, so maybe I can actually go to some of them.

On a less positive note, I've learned, sadly, that my landlady is apparently VERY anti-Dog. As in, if I were to dog-sit Gizmo for 2 weeks, she'd evict us all, as she outlined in the lease. Of course, Thomas (roommate) is the actual holder of the lease, so I didn't find that out until last night. Baaaahhh. I was looking forward to Gizmo-sitting, too. :p

Anyway, woohoo weekend! Tonight? No idea. Possibly an epic bonanza of vegan baking, because the food plans have been awesome so far! (we made this last night and it was very yummy) The weekend is pretty much open, and we might go sailing at some point. Maybe taking pictures at the Dragon Boat races, too. Whatever, I'm just ready to kick back and enjoy!

P.S. No, I am not becoming vegan. (seriously, the lack of cheese would make me cry) But those crazy vegans make some damned wholesome *and* tasty baked things, noawadays.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 03:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios