Jan. 26th, 2006

batskeets: (qaf)
Here's a question: when did I become such an asshole?

No, that's not a trick question.

I sometimes find myself thinking back to a few years ago, when I first moved into Douglass Hall. I remember how easy it always felt to smile and be nice to people. Making new friends was so frickin' easy. And then, I contrast that with my current attitude, where it's only easy when I'm in a particular mood, and that mood is not one that strikes often enough.

I think about how I used to react to people of lesser intelligence--and I don't mean 'not as smart as I am,' I mean geniunely dumb--and I remember being less bothered by it. I'd give someone at least a base level of respect no matter what, and ditzy, shallow behavior just rolled off my back without incident, but now? When I hear or see stupid behavior happening around me these days, it completely grates on my nerves.

Take last night, at the gym: I observed two girls who were giggling like morons and passing a medicine ball back and forth--they'd been biffing around the weight room aimlessly for probably 20 minutes prior to this--and didn't seem like they were even *trying* to accomplish anything resembling a workout. I remember a time when I'd have just gone about my business without thinking twice, but yesterday, I could feel my eyes rolling so far back into my head I could practically see my sinuses.

Bottom line is, I seem to like people at large a good deal less than I used to.

I have to wonder when my judgements about other people changed. Is it because I have a solid group of friends now, and I don't have that sense of desperation to have someone, anyone to be around? Is it a natural part of getting older, and realizing that my overall faith in human intelligence may have been misplaced? Is it because I have stronger opinions than I used to, and more clearly defined likes and dislikes? Was I just blissfully unaware before, and now I'm noticing because I'm more observant? Is it me slowly losing patience with various parts of life? Am I just not a nice person anymore?

Surely, I am not the only one who has felt this way before, so if you have comments, spill 'em.
LOTR-based silliness: This be funny.

So, last night was pretty nice. Wushu practice was good. The outside 360 is pretty much a lock at this point. Hells yeah! I went lifting for a bit afterwards, and I'm kind of regretting it right now. Paaaaaain. But, hopefully I can keep it up, so it won't be a total waste of time. ;p

I am all caught up on PR episodes, now, too. No pink hair, though, because I looked in my magic box of extension goodies, and discovered that I have exactly one of those clear elastic thingies left. Nooooo! Must get more soon, I guess. So, instead, I spent my sit-down time working on my blue scarf. I should try to finish it soon, because I love how it's turning out, and that makes me really want to wear it.

Lunch today was good! Ben, David, and myself went to the Rogue brewery a block away, and the place was surprisingly empty! We were the only ones there for probably the first 10 or 15 minutes of the lunch hour, but they served me a very yummy Mediterranean salad, so they're not doing anything wrong that I can see. There was talk of planning a ski trip sometime in the future, which I'm kind of on the fence about, but it doesn't sound as wildly expensive as I've been previously led to believe, so I'm leaning towards yes.

It's time for Project Runway babble! PR Babblings )

That's all!

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 06:13 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios