In case you didn't see my photography blog posting, Facebook pimping, etc. yesterday, here's the skinny on what's going on with me, in terms of Doing Photography For The Buck$:

First off, my business with Ben is basically done; I'm finishing off the weddings we have left for the year, and we're splitting up the gear and the debt. (yes, there's debt. Lucky me.) I know, you're probably thinking it's because we broke up, but it isn't. Our styles have definitely diverged in the three-or-so years since we started this thing, and we want different things from our photographic pursuits. As far as what genres we like and dislike, the only real overlap we have left anymore is ad/promo shooting.

Fact is, Ben needs to answer to his Explorer side to be happy, which (in my opinion) kind of runs counter to the stability necessary to build a business. And, well, even when we were still together, the same few problems cropped up repeatedly behind-the-scenes on the business, and the headache and stress was just not worth it. Still, it's been a sane and amicable parting of ways, thus far, so it's good. It was an educational ride. :)

I'd already started laying a bit of groundwork for my own studio, and I'd planned on doing it all by myself, but I began to discover that there's a severe limitation on what I can do on my own. I have a finite amount of time and energy, and these past few weeks have been so insanely busy that I'm barely surviving. It reminds me of times in the past when I was working so hard I literally made myself sick, and I know I can't go back to that. To really get my own thing going, I'd have to go back to working constantly, taking awful care of my health and sanity, and being a shitty friend, and I can't hang with that. The sacrifice is far too huge.

Right around the time I was starting to arrive at that realization, [livejournal.com profile] theamazingjosh threw an offer on the table: he and Melissa were looking for a new partner, someone who'd throw themselves full-force into the business, who'd be a prominent, distinct, and unique member of the team, who'd bring new energy and ideas into the fold. We talked a lot about it, about where we wanted to go, and found that we want the same things, have a lot of ideas, and a lot of desire to make things happen. And they're not asking me for anything crazy like quitting The Job tomorrow, or signing all of my work away to them, or becoming part of some monolithic brand that masks all of the individuals behind it.

So, long story short, I decided to throw in with them, and once that started to sink in, I already felt less overwhelmed and more optimistic. And, after our work session a couple nights ago, I'm feeling even more confident about this choice than ever. Being in the right place at the right time can sometimes make or break you, so I hope this is the Make, for all of us.

At the outset, my portrait and wedding work will be offered through my new partnership, and I'll keep doing the fashion and promotional work under my own label. We're throwing the majority of our energy into gearing up the senior portrait business right now, but I'm figuring we'll set up some kind of fashion/promo division at a later date, once the time becomes available for it.

I'm genuinely excited for the first time in a long time. This will be good. :)
I currently have too many things that stress me out, and not enough things that are helping me balance out the stress. One part of me wants to do even more and better things, but another part wants to quit everything and run away to Alaska. Pretty much a sure sign that I'm off-balance. ;p

The S.O. can sometimes be really oblivious and/or insensitive about such things, too, so that means I get to flail around trying to make myself feel better, rather than having any real help with smashing the stress. Not so great when you're the type of person who needs the occasional kindly reminder that it's okay to slow down for a minute. Yay.

On the plus side, I do feel rather good about how my training is going. I'm not seeing major improvements yet, but I'm starting to notice subtle ones, every once in a while. And, more importantly, I'm sticking to it, so I might actually be able to keep this up over the long term.

Now, if I can just scale back the stress levels, I think all of the training stuff will go tons better. Sadly, I don't think that's going to happen until at least July 4th (Uberproject launch date) or possibly not even until the end of summer. The most obvious choice would be to take a break from photoshoots, butbutbut... I have ideas that need to be released! Wah.

I also finally got off my butt (figuratively) and uploaded a couple of photos to iStock yesterday. I love the shots I submitted, so I hope they get approved soon so I can start raking in the buck$. (hur hur hur) The iStock process does remind me of how annoying keywording is, though. It's pretty vital to getting downloads, but I'm not exactly clued in yet about how to keyword my photos well.

Sorry I'm boring lately, but my craptastic mood doesn't lend itself well to fun and exciting postings. ;p
I'm not sure why I went with that subject line, because you can't really *see* the awesome, but oh well.

Saturday was one of those non-stop kinds of days; dropped Ben off in the morning, so he could ride down to shoot a Eugene wedding with a backup shooter, and I hurried over right after to do a shoot. After that, it was homeward to pack up my gear and change, doing some touch-up painting on the studio walls, and THEN, I was off to West Linn to shoot *another* wedding myself. In short? Many awesome photos happened on Saturday. W00t!

Speaking of awesome photos, Eugene types should take a gander at this month's Eugene Magazine... there's an article in the back with photos taken by Ben, complete with a by-line! The magazine people did some goofy layout that involved cropping the photos in the shape of fruits and vegetables, but rest assured, the originals were most excellent.

Anyhoo, Sunday was relaxing, thank jeebus. There was birthday cake for Ben, mini-golf, a bit of Wii, and hanging out and chatting. I think I'm actually getting pretty comfy with his family, which surprises me, but in that good way. Keeping things low-key was nice... I suspect that sneaking in low-key time may be the only way to stay sane for, oh, the entire month of July.

This week is going to be pretty busy, I suspect. I'll be glad when it's over!
batskeets: (yan!)
I'm going to be all mushy about Ben for a minute, because it's his birthday tomorrow:

Mushball ramblings )

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios