I'm never gonna get this whole sleep deprivation thing to work at the con... I simply can *not* make myself get up before I've had 8 hours of sleep. What the hell is my problem lately?? I used to average 6 hours/night, and I could even function on 4 hours once in a while. Why the hell am I suddenly so lazy?
My throat hurts, time to bust out the water bottle.
My throat hurts, time to bust out the water bottle.
Con Survival Advice
Date: 2001-08-27 12:27 pm (UTC)Stay hydrated, and eat properly, which can be kinda hard to do but it's worth it. Before every con, we round up the con-travelin' gang and head out to Trader Joe's to load up on nuts, cookies, dried fruit, and Luna Bars. For AWA, we're adding instant oatmeal to that list, as hotel food (and breakfast buffets in particular) is a giant-sized ripoff. I dunno about the Y-con location, but cons tend to be held at airport locations, making eating options limited--if there turns out to be decent eats immediately nearby offsite, take full advantage. Hydration is also key if you're at all planning to drink, since it's dehydration that causes killer hangovers--don't go out for Saturday night's parties without a full belly and some water.
Something else that helps a lot is sticking to regular excercise schedules. This isn't to say you should bring the Pilates tapes and clear everyone out of your room while you work out, but definitely take advantage if the hotel has a gym and/or pool. The idea is the closer you stick to normal amounts of food, drink, rest, and excercise, the less likely you'll be to crash.
And always, always save the weird-ass doujinshi for the right parties. Especially since this is Y-con.
Re: Con Survival Advice
Date: 2001-08-27 01:24 pm (UTC)And dude, I *loves* me a hotel gym. They always seem to have all the nice equipment that the rec center on campus has, but without encompassing all the things I hate about actually going there. :D