Jul. 5th, 2006

Pirates of the Carribbean! NEEDS TO HAPPEN. Comes out on Friday. Who's up for that?

So on Monday, I got the whole gaggle that was involved in celebrating Louie's birthday to come out to karaoke, and it was effin' BUSY. It seems like it's been getting progressively worse over the past few weeks, but the rotation was just *ridiculous* on Monday. I got there at 9:00 and stayed until 1:30-ish, after I finally got to do my second song. I usually don't get there until 10:00 or later, and I still get to do at least 2 songs, normally. I hope the excessive crowd was due to the next day being a holiday, because otherwise, a new venue may be in order.

I did wind up getting the Best Compliment Ever, though, and it was for a country song. ::rotfl:: I was poking around on someone's shared iTunes list at the job on Monday, and I somehow got it in my head to do "Sin Wagon" by The Dixie Chicks at karaoke. So, I did the song, and somehow pulled it off despite not knowing it all that well, and this chick ran into me on the way to the bathroom afterwards, and said something like, "you were great earlier! I don't normally like country, but you made me like the song, so thank you!" I never get compliments like that, so I was kind of floored, heh.

I've also drawn two conclusions from my recent karaoke exploits:

1) I do not entirely hate Country. The major bulk of the genre is encompased by the overly-weepy, the formulaic and saccharine, and the Good Ol' Boy Redneck type of stuff that I really, *really* detest. BUT, I am now willing to admit that there is Fun Country, which I like, that usually involves the more upbeat and clever tunes, or the really old-school classic stuff, like Johnny Cash.

2) As much as I don't generally like the style of country, I seem to have a certain flair for performing it. XD

I had some good times for the 4th yesterday, too. It was such a nice day out that David suggested doing some nature photos near Fern Ridge, so we saddled on up and did that... unfortunately, the first place we stopped was right near a bunch of standing water, so we got eaten alive by mosquitos, to the point where if you held still for a few seconds to get a picture, there'd be bugs landing on you and digging in. Eeewwww. We moved on before too long, though and found a better spot after that. I'll hopefully put up some of the results later, whenever I get around to it.

Actual 4th of July festivities sounded good after that, but the word was that they were charging people admission for the fireworks at Alton Baker Park, and hell if I want to pay for the "privilege" of fighing the crowds for a crappy spot where I can't even see all that well. So, we went looking along the bike trail just on the other side of the river, and found an awesome spot that ended up being *really* close to where the mortars were being launched! It was a pretty spectacular show, I have to say. :)

Anyhoo, I'm tired today, because I was up late trying to clean up my room some more. But, I am definitely going to train my ass off tonight, because I've been far too lazy these past few days. My new roommate (Laura) is apparently off visiting family, so I'm alone in the house until Thursday with my other (temporary) roommate. Whenever she was around, I was always running through the room with an armload of my stuff, so I haven't really talked to her at all yet. That might be interesting, heh. ^^;

In conclusion: [livejournal.com profile] xplo_eristotle showed me THIS, and I laughed and laughed.

P.S. WHY IS IT EVERYONE'S BIRTHDAY THIS WEEK?? Seriously!

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 06:13 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios