Feb. 3rd, 2005

Yesterday was NUTS. I wrote this yesterday and forgot to post it:

Enterprise is getting canceled?! WTF? And of course, they do this *after* the show actually starts to improve. I didn't particularly go for Enterprise at first, and I really, really wanted to. How good can a show be if you'd rather spend the hour watching the contrivance-fest that is Smallville, in the hopes of glimpsing a fleeting moment of slashiness? (Well, okay, assume you *aren't* me when you answer that question ::rotfl::)

They've done a lot of damage control this season, though, surprisingly enough. They're actually tapping into Trek canon and the history established by the other series when they're producing these episodes, instead of pooping out things like detox gel and the "temporal cold war," whatever that was. Now, Enterprise is finally starting to feel something like the Trek I grew to love in my youth. And really, Friday night TV ratings are always bad; I've seen a lot of good shows die a slow death in the desert of the Friday night TV schedule. ::coughFireflycough:: If UPN expected to get better ratings by dumping it there, they're just crazy. Friday night is where TV shows go to die.

Anyway, go here if you want to campaign on behalf of the show.
Quadriceps Overuse Tendinopathy!

Yessir, that is apparently what's wrong with my knees, as of late. It hasn't shown sign of getting better since last Thursday, so today I saw an orthopedic specialist to try and figure out how worried I should be.

The good news is, it's not actually a joint problem; my joints are actually quite healthy, in fact. The doctor said there was, "not a hint of a problem," with the way my joints are moving and working, even. The tendon connecting my quad to my knee is under too much stress, and apparently it's quite common for people who do basketball, martial arts, and other sports that involve a lot of jumping and landing. I mainly just have to do some exercises to strengthen the ol' leggy-legs, and it should get back to normal in a few weeks.

The bad news is, I have to try and take it easy at wushu for the next 7 days... And, of course, this means No Jumps, Period! NOOOOOO ;_; We even have the carpeted practice space reserved this week, so I was all hyped to do inside falls today! Grr. Well, I suppose it's like they say, an ounce of prevention...

BTW, health insurance? Rocks. It may not always cover all of your costs, but it's very cool to know that if you have the $15 co-pay in your pocket, you can at least go somewhere and find out WTF is wrong with your body. It provides a lot of peace of mind, at least.

Anyway, yesterday and today have been kind of nuts--I've had several meetings, plus the orthopedist appointment, *and* they moved my desk for the umpteenth time yesterday. The good part about the latter of those things is that I'm in an office, for the moment, which is cozy and quiet, and I'm sharing the space with nice folks. :)

On the other hand, however, it's kind of annoying that James and I are working in separate buildings *yet* again, because that means more driving before and after work. And, sometimes (usually when I'm in here alone), this office is *too* quiet, and I have to put on my headphones before it makes me go craaaazy. ::rotfl:: I've probably just grown accustomed to hearing James and Walt's silly chatter over my shoulder these past few weeks. All in all, it could be worse.

Anyhoo, I am going to run away now, because it's dark outside, y'all!

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 11:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios