Feb. 1st, 2005

Because I am a dork and scanned the bloody thing, I now present you with the fortune cookie fortune I got on Sunday:



If you tack "in bed" onto the end, like we all did at least once during high school, you'll figure out why it was so funny. :D
batskeets: (qaf)
I had a lazy evening yesterday, which was *awesome*. I played more World of Warcraft, of course. I'm playing on Azgalor under the name "Fizzywig," if you feel like seeking me out,but right now, I'm mostly just doing quests and trying to gain some levels. Otherwise, I'll definitely be on the lookout for you guys if/when I start another character. :)

I think I'm currently hitting the low point on my motivational sine wave right now, because for the past few days, it's been hard to convince myself to do much of anything. I'm still plugging along fine at work, and all, but the minute I get home, it's LAZY TAIMUUU ;p I hope this passes quickly, because I'm sure it's not doing my spirits or my waistline any favors.

I took a day off from wushu yesterday, partly because I was stuck at work past 7:00p. But, my knees have been acting weird since last Thursday, and I'm feeling kind of hopeless right now in regards to physical pursuits, so I probably needed a day off.

It seems a little weird that I love doing wushu so much, because sometimes it makes me feel so incredibly bad about myself. Every once in a while, I'll find myself feeling utterly defeated and thinking about quitting, because I'm convinced that I will always be terrible at wushu, no matter what I do. I practice my forms, I weight train, I do yoga, and take my vitamins, and eat my vegetables, and it still seems like I'm progressing so slowly that I wonder why I'm busting my ass so hard to begin with. I don't like the thought that my success is determined by anything other than the level of desire I have about gaining that success. (and subsequently, the amount of effort I put in)

But, there are other times when it makes me feel awesome, and I think about how I could one day be winning medals all over the place, and busting out aerials in my sleep, and ultimately, I always wind up coming back to it. And yet, such thoughts seem completely stupid and wishful coming from me. My gifted qualities have always been mental, theoretical, artistic, but never physical.

I don't think I will ever expect to be a champion, or anything like that--I'm too old to be just starting out in any sport, and there aren't many people who can realistically commit their entire lives to being an athlete, especially when they don't know if they're even physically capable of being that good. But, it seems like I shouldn't have to devote so much of my time to this when my only concrete, realistic goals are to Have Fun, and Not Suck Horribly.

Anyway, right now it's mainly just that I'm worried about my poor, poor knees. I've never had joint problems before, so the notion that I might be having such problems now is freaking me out a lot... the idea of a potentially immobilizing injury is really scary to me.

Enough of that stuff! Back to work with me.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:27 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios