Nov. 28th, 2001

Okay, WHY in the name of all that's holy do all these editing applications output to COMPLETELY USELESS FORMATS?! I shouldn't have to convert from SWF to MOV to DV just to put things back into a project that will eventually become a MOV again.

And what the hell is an OMF anyway?! Apparently, it's some kind of sound file, but hell if I know what it's good for beyond that, because none of the other apps relevant to this stupid project will recognize it.

So yeah, I'm sitting here downloading a bunch of extra applications in the hopes that one of them will bridge a gap or three. Even though the ones I have SHOULD ALREADY WORK. I shouldn't have to deal with this. I should be ASLEEP IN BED!!!

In all likelihood, I'll just wind up pulling an all-nighter, getting 2-4 hours of sleep, waking up long enough to actually present my stupid project, and then I'll trot off to Japanese just in time to tank my oral exam.

(well, I know the questions and vocab that I'm supposed to know for the oral, but if I'm running on no sleep, then good luck trying to actually *use* them.)

Time to go commit sepukku. (if by "sepukku" you mean "work on stupid project and have a nervous breakdown," that is)
Yeah, I pretty much called it. I have the project polished off to the point that I'm not wholly ashamed to show it to the class. (although I'd rather not... I take my work really personally, and I'm really guarded about other people seeing it if I think it's not at its 100% best.) And if I go to sleep now, I'll get maybe 3.5-4 hours sleep. If my stupid computer hadn't freaked out on me earlier, I could have gotten at least a solid 6 hours. >_<

Yep. I am going to be hating life in a few hours here.

Off to take a nap now, I suppose.
I AM TIRED. Sooprise, sooprise. :p At least I got to eat before I left.

To-Do List:
-go fail Japanese oral
-go to work
-finish Digital Imaging final project
-Kill Self. :p

Gak. Here we go...
I just had like, the best day EVER. Well, except for the fact that I only slept for 3 hours, but I'm not that tired right now anyway, so even that's okay.

So, I hauled ass over to Millrace and got there about 10 minutes late. (when it's between sustenance and punctuality, the food always wins) I went in with a really fatalistic attitude about my project... I didn't have any dialogue for my soundtrack, the sound effects didn't go as planned, and I *still* couldn't get those accursed pan shots to work, so I kind of resigned myself to getting a sucky reaction to it.

But, lo and behold, I showed it to the class, and it WORKED. People actually seemed to like it! The only complaint people seemed to have was that the subtitles went by too quickly for them to read, but I guess that's my fault since I'm kind of a fast reader. And Todd seemed hella impressed, too, so I think I'm going to get high marks. WOO! I'm *so* glad I got the extra couple of days.

And now I even feel like going back and fixing up all the broken stuff, even though I don't have to. I won't be doing it *this* week, mind you, but it's something I wouldn't mind doing over break. So much for throwing myself off the Autzen footbridge. ^_-

I also KICKED ASS on my Japanese oral. I was worried about it because I didn't really get much time to study, but I guess I didn't need it, because I 0wnzed the oral exam. :D The only part I kind of goofed on was my answer to "where do you live?" because there are multiple ways to ask about hometown, home country, and current residence, and I tend to get them all mixed up. But still, I think I did *way* better than last time. I wasn't as nervous about it either... maybe I'm just too tired to be nervous. ^_-

I also ran into Bonz0r (ha! Bonnie is now 1337-ified) briefly, before the oral exam, and that was a nice surprise. I never see the hometown kids enough anymore! ;_; I should try to get to that Civil War party for a bit on Saturday, even though I lack tickets to the actual game. (I can't even remember how I got tickets for it last time, and I certainly don't remember standing in line...)

I think I got mildly hit on at one point today, although I'm stupid and I can never tell... I never seem to notice when I'm actually being hit on, and in the few instances when I think I *am* being hit on, I'm usually wrong. ::rotfl:: He was cute, though. It's always kind of nice to be hit on, whether you're on the market or not. Even if you're already spoken for, just knowing that some member of the general populous thinks you're hot kind of gives you a little extra bit of ego gratification. ^_-

Mrrf. So yeah, tonight I get to work on my Digital Imaging final, which I've decided is going to be a series called "Rants," which is going to be photographic representations of different things that my friends and I have ranted about. This might actually be a fun project... we'll see how it goes. And then, I will SLEEP LIKE THE DEAD!

So basically: expected a horrible, gut-wrencing, suicide-inducing day, and it turned out awesome. Who says a negative attitude never gets you anywhere? ^_-
HOLY CRAP I'm hungry. Remember: Don't shoot food.

I just realized that I get paid in 2 days. Score! November just flew by, didn't it?

Gotta love it when people post the same thing to communities like 50000 times because they're too impatient not to click the "Post" button incessantly. ;p

Must find games for my Palm. Not that I need *more* excuses to goof off, but still, it'd be nice just to have them.

No more worky worky for meeee. Byebye.
I just noticed one of the comment notes I got in response to my animatic project. (everyone wrote a few comments about each project on a little slip of paper, and passed them to the person who made it) It says "anime, totally anime." Hee! I'm glad *somebody* noticed that part of my project's schtick was the fact that it made fun of the classic shoujo anime formula.

The other neat part: they also wrote a couple lines on it Japanese! I can't read all of it, though... ::rotfl:: The first line was "Kawaii, totemo kawaii," but the second line has some kanji in it that I can't read. Maybe I can get Fukuda-sensei to tell me what it says tomorrow? ^^;

The Digital Imaging project is going along nicely. I have 5 of 6 images done representing the rants (a couple of which I borrowed from Cory):

-- People who prop open the door to a shared bathroom are pure evil.
-- The more obvious the sign, the less likely anyone is to actually read it.
-- If they won't go to the trouble to type the whole word out, then they're probably too dumb to be worth talking to.
-- Michael Crichton must write his books using global search-and-replace, because they're all exactly the same.
-- The World Wide Web promotes Attention Deficit Disorder.

I'm waiting for Cory to come back upstairs to do the 6th ("The fact that I wear combat boots does not make me a lesbian") because I need to have both myself and James posing in the photo, so I'd need a third person to actually take the photo.

Mrrf. I think it's time to kick back and relax for a bit.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:17 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios