Oct. 17th, 2001

Yeah, believe it or not, I actually have a free minute or three. After talking at us for about 20 minutes, Todd let those of us who he already talked to on Monday to go elsewhere to work on stuff if they wanted. So, I'm in the EMU. I'll probably do some things for the J-school from here too, cos I really don't feel like being cooped up in the office right now.

I am meeting with Dean tomorrow for money and more work to do. Wheeeee!! I <3 money. :D I'm tired right now though, and that sucks. I want a soda, but I don't have any small bills. Cry, cry, cry.
Because I am slow like grandma, I *finally* have pict0rs up from Chad's parti. Have a look-see!

Coming Soon: Pict0rs from the coast! Assuming I ever get off my lame ass and do it. ::rotfl::

In the meantime, I am still lamenting my lack of beverage. I have less than 2 hours before I can go home, though. Not sure what I'm going to do in the meantime, though. I really want a drink. I actually don't have *any* money, though, or at least none that isn't already spoken for. Cry, cry, and cry some more.
I love it when Pokey actually updates. ::rotfl::

I am tired. But I think I will exercise anyway, because I'm crazy and a glutton for punishment.

Y'know how you can sit there and plan something out and think that "okay, unless things go in the worst possible way, everything will turn out dandy," and then, things actually *do* go in the worst possible way? Yeah, that. I'd just like to say that it really sucks.

Fortunately, it's not ever anything really major, or else I'd probably commit seppuku on the spot.
I hate attendance grades. There are times when you just don't need to be in class, like when you have a lot of experience in the area they're covering, or when they're just going to have free work time, and you'd be so much comfier and more efficient if you were able to work at home instead.

Usually, however, those instances involve profs that grade you down if you *don't* come to class. -_-

See, I missed one class period for Continuity, because I was sick. And apparently, that's all we get. If you miss TWO lousy class periods, you get dropped a letter grade. FOR THE WHOLE TERM. I grant you, these are 3-hour long classes, but that's pretty bloody rigid, even so. And 3 hours of work time? What the hell am I supposed to do if I'm working on my project at home and can't/don't want to lug everything over to friggin' Millrace? Sit there like a dope for 3 hours?

I just find the whole idea of attendance grades to be ridiculous. The only instances I can think of offhand in which it's actually justifiable: foreign language, because you have to practice speaking with other people, and phys-ed/dance/etc classes, because you have to physically do and learn what they're teaching, often with special equipment and/or conditions.

But with regular classes, it's stupid. Everyone has a different way of learning, and lecture sections are often quite useless, especially if you know more than the prof is going to teach you on a given day. There are times when you'd just be better off spending an hour a day studying from the book than you'd be spending an hour a day in lecture. And it should be up to us to decide when those instances apply. :p

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 11:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios