[personal profile] batskeets
So PFW was pretty fun last night! I met up with a couple of designers (one of whom I've shot with) who were our neighbors at the old studio, we hit up Burgerville and then made our way to the show. Those two are a lot of fun. I actually went to a Naked Lady (clothing swap) party of theirs a couple weeks ago, and we dressed each other up in ridiculous combinations of the old clothes we all brought, and it was hilaaarious. :D We get on really well, and they've already informed me that I *have* to come to their Christmas party, heh. :)

Girly occasions like that can be so entertaining, sometimes. I don't do enough of that sort of thing.

Anyhoo, it was certainly interesting being at the show. The venue was definitely smaller than the previous two years, and I heard some mixed reviews of Night 1 from people who are more In-The-Know than I am. But, one of my other old-studio-neighbors showed an awesome collection last night... her work is absolutely the kind of stuff I'd wear if I were reincarnated as a skinny chick.

And OMG, I am SO proud of my client! Her collection looked really beautiful, and I love how flattering and wearable all of her work is. She'd also planned one look with overalls, and I even knew in advance that she was making them, but they still surprised me when they came out on the runway. The design was so freakin' cute, and completely not what I expected.

I think the most interesting part was being there with people who are actually plugged into the fashion community around here. I was all wide-eyed and new to Portland and the fashion scene, when I shot at PFW in 2007, so I didn't know anybody or even what to expect. And, in 2008, I got comped for the show and went with Amy, but neither of us were heavily networked in the so-called "industry," so it was still a very outside-looking-in sort of thing.

But man, being with designers gave me a whole different perspective on the event, and it was interesting to swap stories with them, and hear details I'd missed about recent happenings, falling outs, and what-have-you. I tend to run the other way whenever drama crops up, and the fashion industry is rife with it, but I've succeeded at staying above and out of it, so far. Still, it's good to be aware of those dynamics, if for no other reason than to keep yourself from being dragged into the middle of it. ;)

Anyhoo, not sure what's going on tonight, but I might be kicking it at [livejournal.com profile] typsie's after wushu, assuming nothing else interferes. Tomorrow I get to see [livejournal.com profile] virgoqueen7 for all of 30 seconds when I give her an art print (which, hey, better than nothing), hang with [livejournal.com profile] marykae and maybe go to a lecture later.

On Sunday, I'll be getting measured by Nina for my Halloween costume (eep) and probably doing lunch with her, too... but other than that, Sunday is wide open. I might just take some down time, because I've been out and about a lot more than usual these past few days. I suspect I'll need some time to decompress from various things, anyway.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:47 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios