[personal profile] batskeets
My left knee has been aching for the past three days. I took Monday off from running, and I might have to take tomorrow off, too. I am... DISPLEASED. And that's putting it rather mildly.

I've had these knee issues off and on for several years, and most of the time, they aren't too bad. Maybe I'll feel my quad tendons hurting occasionally when I hold a stance for a long time, but that's the end of it. Sometimes, though, I'll get these continual aches, and it's pretty scary for me when that happens.

Yeah, yeah, I know. I already do one high-impact sport, and now I've been adding more high-impact activity on top of that, so DUH, of course my knees hurt. Thing is, I've also been training my quad strength, *and* losing weight, and the doctors say those are the two things that will get rid of my particular knee problems.

So, maybe I haven't done quite enough of either to yield good results yet. Maybe it's because Making The Cut has had me training my hamstrings, too, and I'm maintaining the hamstring/quad imbalance even though my quads are getting stronger. Or, maybe I'm developing a different type of knee problem now.

I really, REALLY hope it's not that last option.

I bought some joint juice last night, so hopefully that'll help. I have 6 more days of Making The Cut to do, and then I think I'll take a break from Jillian circuits for a bit. As effective as her workouts are, she does like her high-impact movements, and those aren't the most knee-friendly.

P.S. Dear Medical Science: I'm still waiting for my bionic knees. Get cracking, already.

Date: 2009-08-19 08:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dawningday.livejournal.com
Are you looking for super-powered bionic knees? Because I'm pretty sure they already make fake knees that are pretty decent.

Date: 2009-08-20 10:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tokori.livejournal.com
I had major problems with my knees and wushu it was the main reason I couldn't continue, I was constantly having terrible pain.. all those ski accidents in high school didn't help :(

I am actually surprised you never had any pain sooner, I thought everyone had it, I just assumed I was lame :)

Date: 2009-08-20 02:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Yeah, I'm kind of surprised, too, considering I was over 200 lbs when I started wushu, and being heavy just adds more impact! I guess I've never really had problems just from doing wushu, though... it's when I add in other activities on top of it that my knees start to complain. :/

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:36 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios