This weather can kiss my yellow butt
Nov. 21st, 2007 09:40 amYou can always tell it's cold outside, because I always start whining like a big sissy... and this post is no exception!
It has been SO COLD lately that I cannot deal with it. I can deal with going outside and being cold, because, you know, I expect that. However, I'm also freezing cold inside my house, inside my office at work, inside the photo studio, and pretty much anywhere that isn't "in my bed and under several blankets."
Yeah, I know, they say you're supposed to "wear layers." But you know? You can wear 10 layers, and you'll still be freezing if none of them have sleeves!
I ordered a bunch of inexpensive sweaters and long-sleeved shirts online, and they're supposed to get here soon. I have maybe five that I can wear to work, and they're clearly not warm enough, because my hands are like ice as I type this very post. I have maybe 2 more long-sleevers that have logos on the front, so they're only good for home.
Also, I've been hungry CONSTANTLY as of late, and it's driving me batty. Do y'all get unusually hungry when it's cold? I definitely seem to, and I don't like it in the slightest.
I seriously don't know how I'm supposed to lose body fat if I'm hungry all the frickin' time. People always tell you to "listen to your body," but all my body seems to be saying these days is, "I'm hungry," "I'm cold," and "I'm tired." I'm trying to fit in more cardio and gym time to hopefully solve this, but I'm definitely not feeling my best right now, and I think I am gaining weight.
I think that the whole 9-5 lifestyle, in general, is not doing good things for my health. I'm giving a lot of consideration to going part-time, doing contracting, and/or something else that would be more stimulating than my current situation.
But right now? I'd settle for a space heater.
It has been SO COLD lately that I cannot deal with it. I can deal with going outside and being cold, because, you know, I expect that. However, I'm also freezing cold inside my house, inside my office at work, inside the photo studio, and pretty much anywhere that isn't "in my bed and under several blankets."
Yeah, I know, they say you're supposed to "wear layers." But you know? You can wear 10 layers, and you'll still be freezing if none of them have sleeves!
I ordered a bunch of inexpensive sweaters and long-sleeved shirts online, and they're supposed to get here soon. I have maybe five that I can wear to work, and they're clearly not warm enough, because my hands are like ice as I type this very post. I have maybe 2 more long-sleevers that have logos on the front, so they're only good for home.
Also, I've been hungry CONSTANTLY as of late, and it's driving me batty. Do y'all get unusually hungry when it's cold? I definitely seem to, and I don't like it in the slightest.
I seriously don't know how I'm supposed to lose body fat if I'm hungry all the frickin' time. People always tell you to "listen to your body," but all my body seems to be saying these days is, "I'm hungry," "I'm cold," and "I'm tired." I'm trying to fit in more cardio and gym time to hopefully solve this, but I'm definitely not feeling my best right now, and I think I am gaining weight.
I think that the whole 9-5 lifestyle, in general, is not doing good things for my health. I'm giving a lot of consideration to going part-time, doing contracting, and/or something else that would be more stimulating than my current situation.
But right now? I'd settle for a space heater.
I empathize muchly...
Date: 2007-11-21 07:47 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-11-21 08:01 pm (UTC)At this point I probably sound like a paranoid broken record, but have you gotten your thyroid levels checked? Super sensitivity to cold, tiredness and gaining weight despite normal exercise can be symptoms. :D
no subject
Date: 2007-11-26 07:20 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-11-21 09:19 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-11-23 07:00 am (UTC)Also, you're bound to want more calories (for body heat, y'know) when it's cold out.
Hey, at least you can be reasonably sure we're not going to get buried in powdered ice.
no subject
Date: 2007-11-26 07:17 pm (UTC)Well, yeah, *I* know that... but nobody who gifts me with clothes seems to. (yeah, I know, I shouldn't complain about freebies, but how many short-sleeve shirts and tank tops does one person need??)
Also, you're bound to want more calories (for body heat, y'know) when it's cold out.
This is true. But, shouldn't I theoretically be burning those off, instead of gaining weight from them?
no subject
Date: 2007-11-24 05:41 pm (UTC)Sounds like your diet isn't working well. I had luck with the really insanely low fat diet years ago. No oil, no cheese, nothing that contains more than a gram of fat per serving. It was pretty darn high carb, and I lost tons of weight. I'm just not willing to do that anymore, 'cause I like cheese. Currently, not eating between meals seems to be working well for me and having smallish portions at dinner. Of course, I don't eat out, so I don't get all the crap in my food. I eat a big carb-heavy breakfast, though, which sticks with me until mid-afternoon.
no subject
Date: 2007-11-26 07:15 pm (UTC)In fairness, my "diet" hasn't really been much of a diet as of late, but I haven't been eating abnormally or horribly enough to justify gaining weight, especially with regular exercise like I get.
Sadly, my body doesn't do well on the whole high-carb/low-fat thing. I seem to burn carbs off quickly, and I end up being hungry and miserable all the time. I've actually had a lot of luck previously with low-carb/low-GI type plans, but yeah, I'm not willing to put myself into those absurdly restrictive conditions again. :(