[personal profile] batskeets
Manor people: I know that [livejournal.com profile] bookid expressed some interest in joining me on my Yard Sale project, so if any of y'all who are living in my current building want to join in, I am tentatively scheduling the Sale for Saturday, June 4. Maybe Sunday the 5th, too, if we have stuff left that we still want to be rid of.

The date may change, because I still need to check the weather reports and stuff, but it should definitely be on a weekend. Let me know if you want to be involved, and we'll go from there!

Yeah, it's American Idol time. ;p

The Good:
--Bo showcased his versatility. He actually did well with an Elton John song, of all things, and he also put in a nice a capella number. These sorts of tunes do a lot more justice to his singing abilities.
--Carrie's first song was her best. Very pretty, with some nice subtlety at the beginning, and the pitches were solid. I think slow and subdued is a good thing for her vocals.
--Vonzell pulled it out at the end with a Donna Summer song. It wasn't a very challenging one, but if disco music ever makes a comeback, Vonzell will be a billionaire, because disco is just her thing. She always seems so at home with it.

The Bad:
--Bo's third song, Satisfaction, was kind of a mess. It was a bad choice for someone who wants to showcase their vocal ability. Actually, the Judges' choices were all pretty bad.
--Carriebot's rather creepy ability to make her voice sound plaintive and sad without it registering on her face. She sounded so nice on her first song, but she didn't really sell it as a performer. I want to see the sad face!
--Carrie's third song was Shania Twain, and it was SO BAAAAD. I'm not even saying that because it's Shania; I'm saying it because it sounded like fried ass. :p She was pushing too hard, *especially* in the beginning.
--Vonzell started out *rough* with her first song; she was all over the place. In fairness, it was a rather tough pick--rather range-y, frequent hops between the bottom and top of the octave, and so forth. But still, seriously rough.

Also, people who have been watching American Idol for some time might enjoy this bit from Fametracker. And you know, that is totally how he talks. It's funny because it's true! ;p

Now that Veronica Mars is over, I get to watch House on Tuesdays, which is also a pretty excellent show. The title character is rather complex and amusing, so I think that's the part that really engages me. I hope they move it elsewhere in the lineup, so I can watch this *and* VM next season, without waiting for reruns.

Anyhoo, I'm rather tired, so I'm off.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 03:28 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios