batskeets: (ken)
[personal profile] batskeets
I had myself a groovy weekend. W00t!

Friday night involved hanging out with the wushu crew at Sakura for a while. I stuffed myself with oyako don and green tea ice cream, and after that we rolled on over to Keith's place. Momo officially cracks me up--you can't help but laugh about her antics, or some of the things she says, because the sheer cuteness is just so overpowering. And of course, Keith, David, and Ken teasing her almost constantly makes it even funnier to observe.

While at Keith's, we watched a few episodes of GoldenBoy, which was just, wow. LMAO! Don't get me wrong, because it was pretty funny, in a way that only the Japanese seem to know how to do--the Noodle Shop episode about killed us all with laughter, in fact. But, it's also probably the perviest anime I've ever seen. (well, unless you count stuff like Zetsuai, but they're not exactly playing it for laughs, there ::rotfl::) Of course, I was weaned on shoujo anime, so that's probably not saying much.

On Saturday, I got my wish of seeing one of the movies I rattled off on Friday's post: we toddled on over to see Phantom of the Opera, which, of course, I enjoyed. Gerard Butler? Smokin' hot. Not really a tenor by any stretch of the imagination, and the actor's Scottish-ness came through in his vowels a bit much, but yes, Hot. What he lacked in vocal ability, he made up for in the acting, and I was rooting for the Phantom by the end. Granted, I didn't have any huge expectations, because I'd never seen the show live, so I enjoyed the movie quite a bit. I did notice a few pretty questionable decisions made in the filming of this--synthesized handclaps in the soundtrack? Seriously??--but overall, pretty good. Such cool costuming and settings, too, it was easy to get lost in it.

I'm still in an Oscarbait mood, though, so someone might have to indulge me next weekend. Also: I *have* to see The Aviator now, because I have learned that Brent Spiner has a smallish supporting role! I love me some Brent Spiner. Why do I always get weirdly attached to quirky character actors?

Anyhoo, yesterday, I started the day off *really* cold, for some reason. After being up for about 3 hours, and still having the shivers, I bundled up under two blankets and accidentally conked out asleep for another 3 hours. ^^; After I woke up, there was group dinner at the Chinese buffet up the street. It's one of the last few weekends before [livejournal.com profile] dellswor and [livejournal.com profile] aleisha move back East, so we pretty much have to cram it all in while there's still time. :) The food was good, and I got what is possibly the Best Fortune Cookie Fortune Ever. I usually get the pseudo-philisophical ones that don't make much sense, so I was pretty amped. :D

I also got sucked into World of Warcraft for a few hours after we got back, after [livejournal.com profile] numfar offered me her 10-Day "Invite a Friend" guest pass that apparently comes with the game. (good marketing strategy, Blizzard!) So far, I'm loving the game, and I actually know people who are playing it, so it'd be an MMORPG that I might actually get into. I never liked the social aspect of other MMORPGs; they always seemed to be rife with stupid kids hurling around netspeak and generally talking trash. And I'm supposed to want to form parties or guilds with those people?? Feh! Better to bring in your own friends; at least that way you know your group will be at a similar level of intelligence. ;p

Anyway, that's all I have for now. Back to it!

Date: 2005-01-31 04:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] scootah.livejournal.com
World of Warcraft! Best game evar. What server are you playing on? What class/professions?! HORDE?? Haha! :B

Date: 2005-01-31 04:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
I think I'm on Azgalor, (sp?) server-wise. I'm a gnome rogue with pink odango hair! ::laughs:: I only made level 5 yesterday, so I'm still kind of feeling things out. If'n you feel like looking for me, though, look for Fizzywig. :)

Date: 2005-02-01 01:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] whiteraevyn.livejournal.com
Paul and I are on Draenor. He's a gnome rogue too! I, however, am a nightelf hunter. I think I'm level 27 right now. If you decide to create another character, you should come to our server ... the population is low, which makes for better gameplay.

Date: 2005-01-31 07:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xplo.livejournal.com
Dude, Goldenboy is awesome. XD Or at least the half of it I've seen was. (There are only six episodes, so yeah.) Definitely not the anime you take home to mom, though.

Date: 2005-01-31 08:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Yeah, we watched eps 1-3 and it was *hilarious*... unfortunately, the copies of eps 4-6 that Keith had were dubbed, so we didn't make it past ep 4. ^^; (the dub voice of Kintaro was pretty bad--enough so that I suspect it may have been fandub)

Date: 2005-02-01 10:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] psi_kat.livejournal.com
Where are you in WoW?

I am on silverhand with my lvl 25 warlock ^_^ horde of course *CACKLES*

my guild is also people from eugene ^_^

Date: 2005-02-01 10:56 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
I'm on Azgalor, but only lv. 7 as of midnight yesterday, because I just started the character on Sunday night.

I think I'm going to do a few more quests before I start guilding it up with people, but eh, we'll see!

Date: 2005-02-01 10:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] psi_kat.livejournal.com
My server is down again.

*kicks silverhand* It is one of the servers that always seem to go down.

well if you ever decide to go horde come to silverhand and give Lizette a whisper ^_^

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 03:17 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios