[personal profile] batskeets
Karaoke night tonight? James is running off to play Birthright, so I'm thinking some Karaoke Revolution might be fun! My place is still kind of in re-organizational chaos, but some quick tidying would fix that. Maybe I'll make some sushi, too. Anybody interested? Or have a better idea?

Anyway, today didn't really get better, but it didn't get worse. Mostly, I'm just tired and feeling like poo.

Monty Python and the Holy Grail as a Musical. With TIM CURRY as Arthur. Who's coming to New York with me!?

In other news, thanks to a couple of injuries, there are now EIGHT people from the Yankees on the All-Star team, when the other teams in the AL *and* the NL are lucky to have even *half* that. ::eyeroll:: What a fabulous game *that's* shaping up to be. :p

Happy things about yesterday:
1) Got my awesome box of fangirly things from [livejournal.com profile] pyrobaby!! :D So, I now have lovely J-Rock and SMAP videos and things to dork out about! I haven't had the time or energy to watch them yet, but SOON. Alyson, if you need/want any extra $$ for shipping the ZOE book, let me know!! I don't want you to get shafted because of the USPS :(

2) We saw King Arthur, which was okay. It seemed as though they cut a lot out of this movie, because there wasn't a lot that really pulled me into the story. I rather liked how the characters were portrayed, esp. with Arthur and Guinevere. Arthur got the most plot, and Clive Owen did a nice job--they captured a lot of Arthur's idealism, and how much he cared for his knights. Also, I've never liked Guinevere as a character, and I pretty much *hated* her after reading The Mists of Avalon, but this flick portrayed her as stronger, more intelligent, and more respectable than I think I've ever seen or read her. Nice! :)

I think all the actors did good work with what they were given, but they didn't always get very much. Poor Ioan kind of got the shaft, IMO, because they didn't give Lancelot very much to do--certainly not when compared with other Arthurian treatments. But, I did like the fact that the entire movie was *NOT* centered around the Arthur/Guinevere/Lancelot love triangle. A lot of movies tend to completely lose or ignore the camraderie and the monumental bond that should exist between Arthur and the knights, and this movie at least tried to put more focus on that. We've seen the angsty, overdramatized, anvil-icious love triangle crap a dozen times at least, so it's nice to see things from a different angle.

In sum, I liked the direction they were heading towards with the treatment of the story--not so much from a historical angle, but definitely with the characterizations and the way the basic plot was handled. BUT, I don't think they *quite* got where they wanted to go with it. This is one of those movies that makes me wish they could have a Do-over, or at least a Director's Cut, because I feel as though they had the start of something that I'd *really* enjoy, but we didn't get to see it reach its full potential.

Anyway, I am going to do some browsing and go to sleep.

Date: 2004-07-09 06:47 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] alleycatsphinx.livejournal.com
Was Lancelot ugly?

Date: 2004-07-09 08:39 am (UTC)
ext_5961: Gwen drinking beer (WHY?!)
From: [identity profile] craftyran.livejournal.com
OMG WTF HAVE YOU SEEN THE POSTERS?

::sobs::

You KNOW my Ioan love! ::beats fists against the ground::

Date: 2004-07-09 07:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Yeah, what she said--Ioan = hawt (http://www.imdb.com/gallery/granitz/2510/Events/2510/IoanGruffu_Kambo_2999442_400.jpg?path=pgallery&path_key=Gruffudd,%20Ioan). :D

Although, I kind of thought that the goatee/mustache they had him wear for the movie made him look a bit more sinister (http://www.imdb.com/gallery/ss/0349683/Ss/0349683/04_KAC-C211-17A-B.jpg?path=pgallery&path_key=Gruffudd,%20Ioan) than he should have for playing Lancelot. But, still hot.

Date: 2004-07-09 08:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sarapada.livejournal.com
"Anvil-icious" = thumbs-up. Nice. :-)

Karaoke & Sushi

Date: 2004-07-09 10:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nidaba.livejournal.com
Count me in :-)

If you need any sushi supplies I have lots of sushi rice, sliced ginger, and rice vinegar. I would also be happy to help make sushi with you. Just let me know what time you need me there.

Date: 2004-07-09 11:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aleisha.livejournal.com
I don't know that I'll make it. I have to do some cleaning and bathe kitties. Hmm... If I'm still awake after that I'll come by for a bit.

Date: 2004-07-09 05:51 pm (UTC)
ext_5961: Gwen drinking beer (crossword puzzle)
From: [identity profile] craftyran.livejournal.com
I will be there!

If you're at all interested in pork roast, don't eat anything before we start. I've had one in the crock pot all day, and it's done now, but will last until we start. :) (I tried to knock to see if you were interested, and I thought I heard something from inside but I couldn't tell if it was "come in" or "go away", so I decided to go the safe route and meander back down to my apartment.)

Date: 2004-07-09 05:53 pm (UTC)
ext_5961: Gwen drinking beer (Default)
From: [identity profile] craftyran.livejournal.com
Haha, in my awesome skim-reading, I missed the fact that you were thinking about making sushi. I won't be able to take part in that, if you decide to do it, because my roast calls to me.

Date: 2004-07-09 07:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
That's groovy by me--I'm running off in a minute to get tacos for James and probably a little something for myself, too. I was thinking that any sushi I made would be consumed in more of a snacky hors d'oeuvre capacity. :)

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios