Blar.

Jan. 28th, 2004 06:58 pm
[personal profile] batskeets
So, the Career Fair? HUGE waste of time. Apparently, unless you want to sell something, teach something, or work for the government, the Career Fair is really not for you. :p I talked to a guy from ESPN who will be passing my resume on to the graphics department there, because they'll likely be hiring within the next few months. But otherwise? A whole lot of nothing. I still had a busy afternoon doing errands, though, regardless.

I put up the web site for the startup today, and I'm pretty happy with it. :D I asked to postpone the print ad by a day, though, because between the overcast weather (bad lighting), my busy afternoon, and the fact that my digital cam's batteries are dead, I couldn't get all the photos I needed to lay out the ad. I suppose I could just yank photos from the public domain, but eh, I'd rather do my own work, when I can help it.

I am skipping wushu *again*, because I still have other things that need doing, and I have work tonight. I am thinking that I may just not go on Wednesdays altogether, because now that I work Wednesdays every week, it's just too much to do in too little time. It seems like every time I *do* go to wushu on a Wednesday, I wind up being late to work, or not having time to eat anything for dinner, or some other random thing. I'll still have Monday and Friday, and I need to find some other workout activity that I can do on non-wushu days, anyway.

On the good side, I got some of the expected money today, so I am feeling less strapped for cash. Now, to squirrel as much of it as possible away for later.

Well, enough wanking on LJ, back to work!

Date: 2004-01-28 08:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] addwag.livejournal.com
yeah for wushu slackers!!!!! !!!!!! I didn't go either.

As for the career fair- I always wondered if it would be a waste; I wish the UO brought in more tech companies and less rural shat.

Date: 2004-01-28 10:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Woohoo! I feel less loser-y when other people are skipping, too. :)

Yeah, I wasn't expecting a lot from the Career Fair before I went, but the results were pretty dismal even by *my* expectations. There were a few big companies there, but they were all looking for salespeople and management. ESPN was the only one I found that had anything to offer for folks in multimedia.

Also, some lady at the info table downstairs told me that Nike was there looking for designers, but they was absolutely no sign of them anywhere. WTF? :p

Date: 2004-01-28 09:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cmsunflash.livejournal.com
Heh, I didn't go to wushu either...ooops... 0:)

Date: 2004-01-29 12:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] junsiew.livejournal.com
i went...you guys didn't miss much..we learned a little bit more of 2.5

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 02:25 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios