It's settled, my art history prof *must* be taking lessons from Shatner: a guy in my art history discussion today said the above, which makes him the third person I've heard make such a comment in the last two days. ::rotfl::
So, yes, I'm at the job. It's been slow so far--only one ride and then we just came back into the office. But the night is still young...
James has been offering to walk with me to and from work, since going into the office and coming home involves me walking alone at bizarre hours. But or some reason, I get really offended by it, though, and that's really dumb, because I know people are just looking out for me.
See, I never really felt too trusted by my parents to take care of myself when I was growing up. During high school, I had a 9pm curfew at a time when all my friends didn't have to be home until midnight. The restrictions kind of made me feel stifled. But now that I've been moved out for a couple years, I guess I've gotten to where I don't expect anyone to worry in that parental-ish sort of way, so it really catches me off-guard when they do. I like to think that I can take care of myself, and that independence is something I hold very dear, at times. ^^;;;
I think I just need to stop being such a turd about it and be safe. :) I don't want to inconvenience everyone around me just because I lost my day job, though. Eh, I'm a doofus.
-----------------------
Duh, I could be studying right now, but I'm a doofus and left my japanese review packet at home. :p Go me.
Oh, we have new UPN shows back now, so we got to watch Buffy tonight! :D It was a neat episode. I gotta say, things seem pretty off when there's new Buffy being shown and there's not a swarm of people in my living room watching it. ^_-
Dude, this keyboard officially *sucks*. And on that note, maybe I should stop blathering and filling up everyone's friends page now. :)
So, yes, I'm at the job. It's been slow so far--only one ride and then we just came back into the office. But the night is still young...
James has been offering to walk with me to and from work, since going into the office and coming home involves me walking alone at bizarre hours. But or some reason, I get really offended by it, though, and that's really dumb, because I know people are just looking out for me.
See, I never really felt too trusted by my parents to take care of myself when I was growing up. During high school, I had a 9pm curfew at a time when all my friends didn't have to be home until midnight. The restrictions kind of made me feel stifled. But now that I've been moved out for a couple years, I guess I've gotten to where I don't expect anyone to worry in that parental-ish sort of way, so it really catches me off-guard when they do. I like to think that I can take care of myself, and that independence is something I hold very dear, at times. ^^;;;
I think I just need to stop being such a turd about it and be safe. :) I don't want to inconvenience everyone around me just because I lost my day job, though. Eh, I'm a doofus.
-----------------------
Duh, I could be studying right now, but I'm a doofus and left my japanese review packet at home. :p Go me.
Oh, we have new UPN shows back now, so we got to watch Buffy tonight! :D It was a neat episode. I gotta say, things seem pretty off when there's new Buffy being shown and there's not a swarm of people in my living room watching it. ^_-
Dude, this keyboard officially *sucks*. And on that note, maybe I should stop blathering and filling up everyone's friends page now. :)
no subject
Date: 2002-10-02 12:03 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2002-10-02 02:39 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2002-10-02 05:12 pm (UTC)Do you guys happen to have the season premier on tape? I managed to get the second one, but I'm trying to hold off until I can round up the first. :-P
no subject
Date: 2002-10-02 05:32 pm (UTC)Let us know if you find a copy, though, because I know I'd like to see it!
no subject
Date: 2002-10-02 10:36 am (UTC)"I guess I've gotten to where I don't expect anyone to worry in that parental-ish sort of way, so it really catches me off-guard when they do."
---
As someone who is likely to offer such a thing to a friend (and has recently), it's not a parent-ish thing even though it might feel like one to you sometimes. It's a friend-ish thing. An "I care about this person" thing. An "I would rather have you annoyed at me than ever *ever* having you not come home some night" thing.
And you're not inconveniencing anybody by accepting the offer. It's 1000x worse having to just sit there and wait...and wonder...and hope...with a big fat knot in your stomach. Seriously.
And it has nothing to do with the fact that you're female. *I* don't walk around at night without someone else around and I can take care of myself better than most guys. To be honest, probably better than most small groups of guys. The fact that you're female just makes you a more likely target. Sad but true.
A little story: I had a friend (female) come to see one of my jazz concerts at Beall hall. Afterwards we talked for a bit and then she walked to her dorm while I drove home. She was attacked and almost raped. She escaped, barely. I could have avoided the whole thing by driving her to her dorm. Would have taken me 30 seconds. But I didn't even think about it because hey, she's a strong independant woman. She doesn't need my help. It's only a 2 minute walk...I didn't get over it for several weeks even though she was safe. If she hadn't escaped, I would probably *never* be able to forgive myself. Thinking about it now, I actually still haven't completely forgiven myself even though it's been 2 years.
So you're really doing him a huge favor by letting him walk you home. Think about it that way if you have to. Yes, I'm being Mr. Overdramatic and probably Mr. Overreaction, but I've got a good reason. ;)
My $0.02