[personal profile] batskeets
5) Idiot PETA protestors.

I think it's absolutely insulting that people still subscribe to this stupid, stupid myth. I grew up in a half Asian home and I never once heard a thing about eating a cat or a dog. Pork, Chicken, Beef, yes. Just PLAIN OLD ORDINARY MEAT.

And yes, I am aware that there may actually be places in China where people have been known to eat cats or dogs, but I highly doubt that's by choice. Mainland China is a hugely overpopulated country, which means that a lot of people are forced to live in sub-standard conditions, where food and shelter are hard to come by. There are people there who probably can't afford to feed themselves or their families on your standard meat-eater fare, so they take a step down and eat a cat instead, so they can survive.

Sure, it might sound horrifying, but I'll bet that you'd consider eating a cat or two, if *your* life depended on it. Maybe not your own pet, necessarily, or even someone else's pet. But survival instinct could conceivably drive an otherwise normal person to eat just any old cat or dog. Why be attatched to that more than you would be to any old cow or chicken?

These freaking spoiled frou-frou bean-eating PETA morons should think twice before they employ such idiotic campaign slogans. Implying that all Asians are evil and horrible just because an isolated group of them are forced to feed on domesticated animals for survival is no way to convert people to your cause.

Date: 2001-07-25 07:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hawk.livejournal.com
Actually, hate to rain on your parade here, but when I was in China, I had not fewer than 2 opportunities to eat dog. I passed, both times, because I'm a wuss. Eating domesticated animals is accepted and practiced in China. I speak from personal observation. This was not "poor ass starving ass-backwards China", but rather downtown in the capital of the nation.

That said, I should add that I don't see the big deal. Why not eat dogs and cats? I'll fuck you up if you try to eat my cat*, sure, but nobody's talking about snagging the neighbor's pet for a quick snack here. Why is eating a dog worse than eating a cow!? Who was the genius who decided it was somehow more immoral to eat domesticated species that happen to be entertaining and cuddly? If you can eat a cow, and you can eat a rabbit, what the hell is so special about a dog?

I think I'd feel uncomfortable doing it myself, but I've never seen a strong philosophical argument against dog eating...

*This refers of course to Colors. If anyone would care to eat Fris, I can arrange to loan you a fork on short notice...

Food is food :-)

Date: 2001-07-25 11:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dynee.livejournal.com
I've been told that the turkey is consider a domestic animal in some countries.

Food is food. The only kind of meat I'd have any objections to eating would be human flesh for, I hope, obvious reasons. I don't like the idea of eating my own kind. Some might even argue that we still count as food (to other species).



March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 05:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios