[personal profile] batskeets
Check this link I scoped via Nik's journal.

I suppose I'm just feeding her hunger for attention by even commenting on this, but I feel motivated to. I take the matter of suicide quite seriously, and if anything, this chick is making a mockery out of anyone who has ever thought about taking their own life. I don't agree with suicide in general, but even if I did, truly suicidal people have far worse things going on in their lives than a measly breakup. To even play at taking your own life over a *guy* is insulting, IMHO. It's insulting to people who have endured far more horrible things than that before even considering suicide, and it's insulting to those who clung to their miserable little lives, even in their darkest hour, and still survived, and even thrived afterwards.

I mean, think about it: why would anyone sane commit suicide on a live webcam if they weren't just looking for attention and sympathy? You know somebody's going to see you, call the cops, maybe even come over to your house and force you to vomit up whatever pills you took. If you really wanted to die, why do it so publicly?

To me, this act doesn't say "I hate myself and I want to die." From where I'm standing, it merely says "please be nice to me, I've had a bad day." Rots a ruck, kid. I'm amazed that anyone would be so kind to her after she put herself on show where her friends and loved ones could watch her take her own life. I have never seen a suicide happen, and I never hope to, and I can only imagine how horrifying it must be to watch someone you care about do that to themselves.

She didn't need to show all her friends first-hand how it feels to watch something like that happen, especially with the knowledge that some of those online friends would be completely powerless to do anything about it.

I'm hoping she gets some psychiatric help, and I'm not saying that as an insult. I mean it. She's got to be mentally/emotionally imbalanced to try something like this.

Dude...

Date: 2001-07-12 04:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ex-jean.livejournal.com
I totally agree with everything you just said about that article.

If I ever met the girl, I'd have to give her a good slapping. A guy is nothing to kill yourself over. Sure, you're sad for a time... sometimes a LONG time... but you don't KILL yourself over him! I mean, there are people who have lived through household abuses, parental rapings, poverty, you name it... a guy breaking up with you is nothing compared to those things.

You know what's worse? I feel sorry for the guy who broke up with her. He probably heard of this, and you can imagine the guilt he felt... he doesn't need to feel guilty for it, but he probably does. I just hope he stays away from her after this, because having him come back after this would only fuel this girl's already deluded ideas about the value of her life. I mean, seriously, I don't care if he is/was a jackass or whatever, but it was HER decision to do that horrid thing, not his. He should feel no guilt over it, because she should have handled it better. The breakup, maybe, but NOT the suicide.

RIGHT ON.

Date: 2001-07-12 05:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] whiteraevyn.livejournal.com
A-men, my sistah. I am sure you read my rant. :) Selfish little brat.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 06:29 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios