[personal profile] batskeets
What kind of yahoo came up with the wording on all the standardized warning signs? A lot of it can be very open to misinterpretation. For instance, I know that when *I* was a wee tyke, when I saw "IN CASE OF FIRE USE STAIRS" posted in the elevator, I thought it meant that we should use the stairs all the time, just in case there might be a fire. Wouldn't "If there is a fire" be more straightforward than "In case of fire"?

And I can't even begin to tell you how many times I've heard the Slow (as in retarded) Children joke whenever there's a "SLOW Children at Play" sign nearby. A little punctuation would do wonders.

I have a couple more hours at work. my headache is subsiding, to some extent. I should find something to do tonight though, that'd rock.

Date: 2001-06-19 03:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fieryrogue.livejournal.com
ANSWER: Idiots who didn't pass English 101.

Heh. I can't believe people don't bother to learn their own language a little better in this country. In my job I often come across old data that I have to fix all the time merely because someone is dumb in subject of English. Blah.

Date: 2001-06-19 03:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] carebear.livejournal.com
My favorite sign is Slow Blind Drive ahead
I didn't realize driveways could see, nor do I know it was ok to drive with your eyes closed at any point in time.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios