Jul. 11th, 2014

Holy jeebus, it's good to be busy again. Well, other than the fact that I'm behind on things and freaking out about it, heh, There are tight timelines all around me, but at least I have work coming in, and I'm making the cash money.

I picked up a development gig that's been okay so far. I'm not exactly wild about the management style of who I'm working for: there have been several instances where I haven't been provided info vital to doing a task. (hence, why I'm writing this post at 8:30am, instead of finishing the task they asked for late last night) And they sure do seem to want everything "ASAP." ASAP is swiftly becoming my least-favorite acronym. But the pay is good, and on a W-2 basis, and I'm having the excuse to learn and try new things, so at least it's not totally mindless work.

And, there's other work coming in, too, so my creative side doesn't die horribly. I'm handling it, but one of these days, I need to actually figure out how to smooth out my work cycle, so that I don't end up with eleventy-billion projects at once. I seem to live in two major states: freaking out because I have too much work, or freaking out because I don't have enough of it. I'm getting pretty worn out on being freaked out about ANYTHING.

Throw in the Sunday/Monday of working at the shop, too, and I'm feeling pretty blasted. I am managing to have some time for fun in spite of it, and sleeping in when I can, but free time is really hard to come by. I'm hoping that the development gig continues well enough that I can quit the shop soon, though.

I need a vacation.
Possibly my least-favorite piece of feedback yet: I sent out a logo comp for a health coaching business, which included a silhouette of a female runner. It looks like a normal-sized person to me, especially when I think of someone who's fit and muscular. BUT, of course, the client thinks the runner looks "fat." (yes, that was the word the client used. Ick.)

UGH. Is it any wonder such a huge percentage of women have a friggin' complex about how their bodies look?

Related: I've had entirely too many clients throw the term, "edgy" at me, as of recent. Do people even know what they mean when they say "edgy"? SO VAGUE. Ugh. Choose other, different descriptors plz kthx.

On the up side, my project manager is basically a wizard, and has taken my incredibly sparse excuse for training and run with it. She is rocking it with clients, and is making this crazy-busy period noticeably more bearable for me. The mere fact that I can count on her to put out proposals and help with communication eases my mind, and it might actually help even out how new work cycles in, so I DON'T have to be freaking out all the time.

So, in short: Awesome people are awesome. Non-awesome people need to look at their lives and look at their choices.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 09:57 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios