Jul. 6th, 2010

SO.

There was no wushu on Friday due to the holiday, so a gaggle of us got together for a bite to eat, and then meandered over to watch The Last Airbender. I'd already bought my ticket in advance before reading a lot of the bad press, so I figured since I'd already given them my money, I might as well see it, and you know what? I WANT MY 90 MINUTES BACK. I'm a pretty forgiving movie-watcher, and I'd set my expectations low going into it, but this managed to hit even lower than my already-abysmally-low expectations. My face was stuck in Cringe for the entire film. It wasn't even hilariously terrible, it was just flat-out terrible, and even if they hadn't taken a fat, steaming shit on my fandom, I STILL would've been bored out of my skull. This movie is a crime against humanity on about ten different levels, and just... AAAGGGGHH. M. Night Shyamalasdflkahsdflkh? I have a 6-foot spear with your name on it.

...ahem. Sorry. Moving on.

Anyhoo, house/pet-sitting went well, and the animals were sweethearts. Unfortunately, the alarm I set didn't go off on Saturday, and then I got caught in stupid traffic, so the morning was a little more stressful than I'd planned. But, I finally got over to [livejournal.com profile] marykae's to enjoy lots of Veronica Mars, and we finished Season 1! (Side note: I am ridiculously jazzed about re-watching Season 2, because it is AMAZING. And I basically never want to re-watch things without a years-long buffer between viewings. Seriously, SEE THIS SHOW, for monkey's sake.)

Afterwards, I went back up to Vancouver for house/pet-sitting and wound up kicking it at Barnes & Noble for an hour or so with [livejournal.com profile] matrixleap and [livejournal.com profile] herince_emyn, who were kind enough to throw their plans into chaos again so I could go with them to see a late showing of Get Him To The Greek at the $3 theater. That was a fun little slice of cinema, and it was rather nice to be reminded of what it feels like to walk out of the theater feeling satisfaction. ;p

The 4th was awesome. Worked out in the morning after having taken 3 days off due to the headcold I had last week, and then I wandered over to a BBQ spearheaded by [livejournal.com profile] dark_knightly, for a truly excellent afternoon. Tons of good food, tasty beer, ridiculous amounts of trampolining, taking pictures here and there, hanging out with some of my favorite people, biking to the fireworks and back, lighting off our own fireworks in the street after. Good, good times.

Yesterday, I woke up sore and tired from all the random physical activity of the previous day, got some work done while enjoying the sun on my upstairs deck, and then [livejournal.com profile] katlyn came over, and we both sat down with [livejournal.com profile] daemonwise to have some greasy Chinese food, while watching episodes of Avatar to try and blot out the memory of the movie. Later in the evening, I went up to NoPo for a couple hours to laptop party, finish off some photo processing, and talk shit about the Kardashians with Alyson and Alicia.

I'm still tired today, and finding new mosquito bites on my person every time I reach to scratch somewhere, but at least I'm sleeping decently. I guess that's the one Up Side to having a metric ton of snot lodged in your sinuses?

And, I'm spent.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 08:30 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios