Dec. 21st, 2008

Driving in snow like yesterday? Holy crap. NEVER. AGAIN.

I got up at 9:30am to open the studio for a renter, and lost traction 3 times on the way over there. I realize that, although I do know *how* to drive in snow, I have not actually done so hardly at all. I had it down much better on the return trip, but it was really tension-inducing.

The benefit event I was supposed to shoot yesterday evening got cancelled as of Noonish, so I packed everything up in a rush and headed for Eugene, in the hopes of getting out of the snow while it was still light outside.

I drove with chains on until Woodburn, creeping along I-5 at a whopping 25-30mph. I was sleepy and couldn't find a freakin' Starbuck's that was open, so things were pretty on-edge until I finally saw the snow change to rain on the south side of Salem. I'm *really* relieved that all I have to deal with down here is rain.

On the plus side, my fingerless gloves stood up to the whole process of putting the tire chains on, so I think the pattern is pretty solid! Booyah. :)

Dad also seems confident that the pass will be okay, but I'm keeping an eye on things.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios