Aug. 14th, 2006

SO. TIRED. ::dies:: The weekend was long, so I'll break this up a bit. :) Friday and Sunday are forthcoming!

Saturday: Fashion show time! It was pretty hectic, as you've probably guessed. I went in there all gangbusters about getting through hair and makeup, because I didn't get to do either of the promo shoots, so I was one of the first people to get both done. Maybe I'm actually learning the art of how to be more aggressive without being obnoxious about it. :) I think two of the make-up artists dropped out at the last minute, though, so the poor MUAs that did show were busting their butts doing faces for close to 10 hours, and there were still models in the make-up chair when the show started.

Complaints: There was supposed to be a potluck for all the people involved in the show, but everyone brought snack food! As in crackers and store-brand granola bars and other similarly junky stuff. The only thing that kept me from passing out due to manly hunger was one model who actually made Real Food, and somebody else who brought fruit. ;p

Also, I didn't get to wear the red vinyl I was promised, because one of the other models submitted inaccurate measurements. I was the only one in my group who could actually wear her outfit, so she wore mine and I wore hers. And even then, it *still* fit weird around my big martial arts butt, so I had some troubles bending over. ::rotfl:: So, yeah, that was a bit annoying.

BOO-URNS to stage moms. The designer I walked for was apparently passing kidney stones the night before, but she still came out to the show and worked all day finishing outfits. She really looked like she was ready to collapse, but she still had stage moms harassing her and wasting her time with complaints about outfits when she had plenty of work to do already... bleh. She's a trooper, I felt bad for her.

Standing around in 3-inch heels for 9 hours? OW. x_x

Highlights: A lot of the models were pretty nice people, no sassy attitude or anything! All the girls in my group were great, and I ran into a couple of folks I recognized from online who were fun people. Both the MUA and the hairstylist who worked on me were super-nice, too.

Because I got out of hair and makeup so early, I had time to shoot with two photographers in my outfit, and then do some jewelry shots with another one. They were all nice guys, too, and were working hard all day.

In spite of the difficulties with the outfit swapping, I think I liked the outfit I ended up with better than the one I was originally supposed to wear: it was dark green cropped pants and a fur trimmed jacket, and a pink corset with beaded fringe. I can't even explain it adequately, so just wait for the pictures, it's pretty cute. :D

Anyhoo, none of the pictures in my crazy outfit are available yet, but here are a couple of random ones that I don't think have been edited yet:

Whee! )

All in all, it was pretty fun, and I'd likely do it again. I probably wouldn't start getting a lot of runway work unless I were to magically lose 50 lbs. or something--you have to be skinnier when you're not as tall, and me minus that much weight would be gross--but you never know, I guess. :)

After that, I came back and we drove to outside of town to watch a meteor shower... it wasn't exactly as breathtaking as I expected, because it sure didn't seem like there were that many meteors lighting up, but it was a nice night, at least.
Friday: It wound up being busier than I thought, and I probably stayed out later than I should have, but eh, I survived. :) The regular Friday outing with office folk turned out to be hitting up the Ems game, so I was all up for that. The Ems somehow pulled down 6 runs in the first inning, which is pretty crazy. The visiting team slowly crept back up on them, but the Ems finally shut it down 6-5.

I got a call late in the game telling me that Jeremy got a teaching job out in BFE--Ontario, OR. to be more precise--and would be heading out of Eugene on Monday to find a place to live out there! So, I met up with them at Jameson's after the game, to help give him a proper sendoff. I stupidly left my cash in my other pants, though, so I couldn't buy him a drink, but he's hoping that he'll be able to come back and visit periodically, so I'll get him back eventually.

Sunday: Super-fun! We hit up the city and somehow managed to find this cool location that we'd seen the last time we were up there. It was this weathered section of brick wall that looked like it was once part of a building, and it had window frames with rusted window shutters on the outside... very cool. Portland is so neat in some areas.

Our first model met up with us there, and she was a fun chick. We had her laying all over metal beams in horribly uncomfortable ways, but she was a trooper through all of it. She even recommended that I get in touch with a photographer she shot with recently and really liked. I think that I got some really good shots, too, so I can't wait to start editing those!

On the down side, our second model couldn't make it... she had to rush to the vet hospital because, apparently, her roommate sat on her dog and dislocated its shoulder. Gah!

Anyhoo, after we got done with our shoot, we toddled off to my funky Bruce Lee movie poster shoot, and that wound up being pretty fun. The photographer used his apartment as a studio, and he had some fancy-schmancy professional flashes to light the room, so I'm hoping for some good results! He seemed to like what I did with the various martial arts poses and stances, too. He'd tried the shoot before with a model who had no martial arts training, and I guess it didn't turn out as well as he'd liked, so hopefully he'll be happier with this one. :) He also commented at one point that my horse stance was really low, and I just had to laugh, because Phil probably would've said it wasn't low enough. ::rotfl::

We did dinner at one of the 80 hojillion McMenamins around town, and then headed back to Eugene, and wound up going for a long, long walk out towards Fern Ridge. Between standing around all day on Saturday, and then all the walking last night, I am effin' TIRED and my back hurts and I am so not going to the gym today. ;p I trained really hard last week, so it won't kill me to take a day off.

Today: I am doing NOTHING, and that is beautiful. Well, at least, that's how it stands at this moment. I'll probably be editing photos and working on stuff at home. A new roommate is moving into the house today, and she seems like an okay chick so far... I didn't get a chance to meet her beforehand, but eh, I'm hard to piss off, so I'm sure it'll be fine. :) Abbey, a.k.a. the dog we're watching, is possibly the quietest dog I've ever met. I don't think I've heard her bark even once. She was whining a little this morning, but in general, she's been a total sweetheart. She doesn't seem to like being picked up and held like Gizmo does, though.

Anyway, that's enough babbling for one day. I'm off.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:36 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios