Jun. 20th, 2006

batskeets: (yan!)
I'm attempting to keep up more on the news, as of late. Maybe it's just hearing Michael go off on political foo all the time--it's rather entertaining when he does, but he's an entertaining guy in general--but I think I'm getting past that head-in-the-sand phase. I think I can actually deal with hearing the ridiculous stuff that happens in the world today. The loudest voices are always the most radical or reactionary, and I always got so turned off by those folk that I never got past it to any really good discourse. I suppose that I'm hoping maybe I can drown out the more ridiculous stuff this time around.

So, yeah, anyone got recommendations for good news/political blogs or websites? I'm kind of doing the CNN and Reuters thing right now, but I'm not sure I'm loving that, so much...

Anyhoo, I was going to wushu it up at the Rec center last night, but I got stuck at work until late, so I took the 45 minutes I had until closing and got back to the weight room! I did pretty well, too. I think I'm learning to push myself harder, like my trainer used to do, back when I was still working with her. I used to wimp out on a lot of things, so it kind of gives me hope that I can now make myself do those last 2 reps, when previously I'd have just crapped out and moved onto the next thing.

Also, note to self: running right after a weight training workout? Not so great. I had to slow down to a walk about 2/3rd of the way through my route, because I'd done a bunch of leg exercises at the gym, so my quad tendons were hurting a good bit. I picked it back up again before long, but that was pretty grueling. And now I'm probably going to run *again* with David and Ben later tonight, too... yeesh. I really *am* trying to destroy myself. ;p

I did sleep like a freaking baby last night, though. Wow. I felt awesome when I woke up this morning! It feels good to be training hard.

I put up a few more of the Portland pictures that I got last night. Yay! There were lots, but I picked a few to start things off. I especially like the sword photos, but I think that's just me having a weird sword fetish. Well, that and the fact that I look scary.

I kinda want to see those crazy gas mask pictures from Sunday. Heh. Hopefully I'll get them tomorrow sometime...

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 06:39 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios