Nov. 3rd, 2004

batskeets: (finger)
I think today is a firm reminder of why it took me so long to start caring about politics AT ALL: Because it invariably leaves me depressed and/or disgusted by the whole process.

A Bush victory is bad enough, in my humble opinion. But I suppose it's not *that* big of a shock. Depressing, yes, but not particularly surprising.

But Measure 36, too? The same state that shot down Measure 9 when I was a kid voted in FAVOR of Measure 36? What the hell, people? I never thought that 36 would pass, and even when CNN reported 10 other states passing gay marriage bans, I thought to myself, "Well, it won't be us! Oregon's awesome!" Oh, how wrong I was.

All I have to say is: if anyone out there who voted for Bush, or didn't vote at all, doesn't like something that Bush does over the next four years, then you sure as hell don't get to complain about it. You might have been able to claim ignorance in 2000, but now you've had a 4-year-long look at what this man is capable of, and what he's all about. If you helped him get into office again after all this, then shut up and take your lumps, because you knowingly did it to yourself.

I don't even know why I just wrote that--most of the people watching this journal probably already agree with me.

As for me, I suppose I'll be throwing more of my money at the Human Rights Campaign, because I can't let discrimination stand, and I can't abide people who think they have the right to tell others how to live. I'll stay in my cute little city of Eugene, because at least this way I'll be immersed in an environment where people actually think like I do, and hey, what terrorist is going to choose Eugene as their first target? And I'll continue watching The Daily Show as my sole source of real-world news, because I think the only way I'll survive the next four years is to laugh at all the absurdity they so deftly point out.

Well, either that, or I'll flee to Japan. ::laughs:: Whatever happens, I'm sure as hell not going to stand here while the GOP takes away my civil liberties, one at a time.

This is not the reality I wanted to wake up to.

...

So, uh, who wants to take me into their Tokyo flat and help me improve my mostly-broken Japanese? Anyone??
You know, it's not that I hate America. I really don't. This country hasn't been bad to me during my relatively short lifespan.

I don't even hate Bush right now. I mean, yeah, I disagree with a lot of the things that he does, but in the end, he's only one man. And there are such things as term limits.

What's hitting me so hard is the PEOPLE. The people that chose big business over the planet that we live on. The people that voted in support of obfuscation and smear campaigning. The people that chose the possibility of more war. The people who said, "It's okay, I didn't need those civil liberties anyway!" The people that chose discrimination.

It's not merely Bush that scares me. It's the idea that this is all actually the will of the people. I thought that a majority of us had moved past so much of this, but we haven't.

We didn't lose by much, though. The elections two elections involving GW were the closest races I can remember, and 36 didn't pass by *that* huge of a margin in Oregon. Maybe if we stay here and keep fighting, instead of fleeing the country, we can turn things around. That's what I'm telling myself right now.

Yes, my comment about moving to Japan was made in jest, for the most part. I won't be doing that until I'm convinced that the Powers That Be are no longer listening, and that a clear-cut majority the people of this nation no longer share my most important beliefs. I don't think we're there just yet.

I'm sorry that I keep blabbling about this, especially with everyone else doing something similar. This experience has just been very upsetting and demoralizing.

I'm going to go eat something very large and tasty, now. (yes, I am apparently an emotional eater)
I spent enough of my lunch hour wailing over this stupid election, so with the rest of it, I shall return you to your regularly scheduled program.

It has been suggested to me that we see Team America: World Police this weekend. I know some of you have already seen it, because the movie opened while I was knocked out by my second round of illness, but somebody must still want to go, right? WHO'S WITH ME? :D

After watching the election returns for a good hour and not really seeing the numbers change, I went and played with my Sims for a while. They're going along all swimmingly, and I'm working on my second generation of Sims. Elhonna the Popularity Sim had her first lousy party, so she was pretty sad for a while. Meanwhile, the Romance Sim I made is doing a great job of slutting it up, enough so that he's running out of ladies. I've tried having him gay it up, but he seems to have more of a way with the girlies, so far.

Oh yeah, and I'm still at Word count: 0 for Nano. I was so tired when I got home yesterday that I was completely writer's blocked. I need to settle on an idea, and fast. Hopefully I can make it up this weekend.

Bollocks, I'm feeling sleepy again. I knew I should have gotten a coffee.

Finally, here's a fun thing: a Totoro recliner!! :D

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 09:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios