Dec. 20th, 2003

batskeets: (qaf)
My hands are getting tired from knitting, and I just watched Seinfeld on *tape* here in the office. As if they don't show it often enough in reruns! ;p

Oh yeah, I got a christmas card from [livejournal.com profile] starkodama today! I'm so owned!! It's so nice to get postal mail from somebody who isn't asking for my money in one way or another. Thank you so much, Lauren!! :D

I'm so terrible about sending things through postal mail that it's no wonder I hardly ever get letters. I feel sometimes that there's not much point in sending letters to the people I'm most likely to mail them to, because I'll probably talk to them on IM or e-mail and tell them everything I said in the letter before they ever receive it. There goes that utilitarian side of my brain, again.

I definitely need to get on top of things next year and get a regular Christmas card list going. November was such a bad month that it's a miracle I got anything done. The last time I did Christmas cards, I enjoyed writing out nice, personal messages to each person, but it was so time-consuming that it took twice as long as I expected to get them done. Maybe when I don't have homework to think about, I'll be able to put more time into it.

Speaking of Christmas, there are few things that infuse me with childlike glee quite as much as seeing houses decorated with Christmas lights. I've seen quite a few while driving around at night for DDS, and it's so pretty to look at. :) I really wish I lived in a house, or at least had a balcony or patio at my apartment, because I would have so much fun stringing up the lights.

TWO MORE MINUTES. GO CLOCK GO!!
God, I'm writing a lot tonight. Maybe this is a sign that I need to stop spamming all your friends lists, and resume working on the rest of my Nanowrimo novel? ::laughs:: I did think of another aspect to put into the story while I was driving around doing errands the other day, so my mind has definitely been on it. I don't know if I'll get anything done on it until after I get back from California, though.

Speaking of which, I am pretty pumped for this trip, but also kind of bummed out because of all the people who won't be there. My family is pretty small; we don't have an army of great aunts or uncles, second-cousins, or distant relatives like some families do, so every person who can or can't be there for Christmas seems that much more important.

I'm also worried that James might wind up spending the day alone, because he works on the 24th and the 26th. I've been prodding him about going to Grants Pass to see his family, and I'm sure he will, but he doesn't seem like he's expecting to enjoy it much. I guess it's hard to relax on Christmas when you have to be in to work at 4am the next morning.

I'm glad that I'll be driving the whole way, though. Commercial planes are faster transportation with less effort, but it's nothing like hitting the open road. I love driving.

I just tried some of the biscotti that [livejournal.com profile] dynee gave me when she came over before my shift, and it was *so good! I don't normally eat a lot of biscotti, because it always seems hideously overpriced at coffee shops, but that was some of the best biscotti I can remember having. Thank you!! :)

Tomorrow, I am supposed to meet up with [livejournal.com profile] alaindan, because he'll be in town sometime in the evening. We're probably going to play mass quantities of DDR, and maybe have dinner or something.

Geh, when did it get to be 5am? WHY am I not asleep?? Oh yeah, because I work again tomorrow night, so there's no point in getting up early in the morning, unless I want to fall asleep at the wheel during my shift. Jeez. And maybe I shouldn't have had that mocha at the beginning of my shift. But it was Dutch Bros.! I can't pass that up! ::laughs:: I have no idea how I'm going to wake up early for the drive down to Cali, when the time comes.

To do tomorrow: design book cover & interior chart for client, do HTML cleanup and graphics work for other client, prepare invoices for mailing, figure out where in blue blazes I put my insulated lunchbox.

Okay, I'm shutting up now. If I'm going to be awake this late, I should at least be doing something at least semi-productive, like working on my knitting, instead of wanking on LJ. I found some neat things on Knitty tonight that I want to try my hand at soon. :)

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios