Nov. 30th, 2003

batskeets: (j)
Guh, I hate sex scenes. I don't really like seeing them in movies or reading them in books, because 90% of the time, they're completely unnecessary to the plot. (moreso in film than in literature, I think, but still ;p) The only time I'm really able to get into it is if both the people involved are people I find attractive. This usually means that both participants are men*, so yeah, you can probably figure what most of my problem is right there. ADSFDLFSAHLKHA!! But yeah, most of the time, it's just a big "yawn, yeah, hurry up and get to the next scene" sort of thing.

But anyway, more specific to the original statement, I hate writing sex scenes. The chapter I just wrote was the most painful chapter I've written yet, and the characters didn't even have actual sex! Just some very light foreplay, and I didn't even describe it in an explicit way. Usually, I can just write around it with the "tasteful fade-out" beforehand, or by jumping to after it occurs. This chapter, however, had to do with sexual dysfunction occuring in the relationship, as a sign that said relationship will eventually fail, so I *really* couldn't get around it. Aaaaaagggh.

So, yeah. No more on-screen booty for my MC. Believe it.

Work is boring, boring, boring. I'm writing a lot, though, so that's good. I have 40 more minutes until I can turn the phones off, and there hasn't been a call in half an hour. Pray that I go home early, my darlings!

* Yes, by this, I mean that gay sex scenes are the ones that most consistently do it for me. Chicks aren't any fun to watch, *especially* when they're bony, anorexic Hollywood chicks with no breasts. EW. Also, female characters seem to get saddled with more annoying traits, so by the time they get laid, it's like they don't even deserve the honor. But that's probably one to blame on the writers. BOOOOO!
For some insane reason, I'm still awake! ;p

I made the mistake of playing more WCIII, and I was playing through the last couple Undead missions, which are rather beastly. I wish I hadn't left my old save file on C's laptop, so I wouldn't have to play through all of the really nasty missions again.

I also tossed up some new LJ icons, because, hey, I had 5 spaces that I wasn't using, and that's just no good at all.

I just realized that I'm almost 35,000 words into my Nano novel, and I haven't even revealed the uber-plot point yet. I thought I'd have done so by now, so I guess I had more material than I thought. Well, even though I definitely *won't* be magically producing 15,000 words between now and midnight tomorrow night tonight, I'll definitely finish this thing off in the coming weeks. I've had "write a novel" on my mental list of Resolutions for the past year or two, so it'd be cool if I actually did it, thanks to Nano. (even if the novel turns out completely awful and never sees the light of day after I finish it ::laughs::)

I have to be at least semi-productive tomorrow: homework, laundry, and attempting to write a perl script. (the latter of which I haven't done in a while) I think I'm just going to run away now while the getting's good.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:19 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios