Sep. 5th, 2001

Whoopsie

Sep. 5th, 2001 02:25 am
I didn't write about the con after all... but then, I wasn't at work either, really, I just did a few things for work from here. I've been hella tired all day though, so I'd have felt lame if I had written a recap of the con today, cos it would have sucked all kinds of bad and not done the trip any justice. So I guess y'all gotta wait until tomorrow. I just know you're all on the edge of your chairs waiting for it, hur hur. ;p

I played Starcraft tonight. I kinda sucked. I'm still playing Zerg all the time because I'm hoping it'll improve my early game... it kinda has, maybe, but I can't really tell yet.

I've had I For You stuck in my head all day. I was belting it out in James' face earlier today... it was probably very scary. ::rotfl::

And dude, my Keenspace account is *finally* ready, so I can start putting up Hidenka 18 installments whenever I want. I have no idea how often I'm gonna update though... it's not really a judgement I can make until school starts again and I find out how much free time I'll actually have. But I suppose that before I think too much about that stuff, I should probably do some more sketches now, huh? :p

P.S. Alyson might like to know that I d/led some Mary Prankster and it's hella cool. :D
So like, we got up no later than 10 during the entire con, and I had no problem getting out of bed then. And yet, when I get home, I can't drag myself out of bed for anything. This sucks, damnit. Although I should be glad that I didn't sleep through the whole frickin' con, at least.

Anyways, I gotta work out and then actually go to work today.

Oh, and HAPPY BIRSDAY SHANN!
I'm finally going to write this, after putting it off for the past day or two. In short, the trip kicked ass. We all had a great time together, and we got to enjoy the con, go crazy in the dealer room, and trot around Japantown and the rest of San Fran like the silly fangirls we are. I'm very happy I went, because it was worth it.

CLICK TO READ THE DETAILED STUFF! )
I'm home now. And I'm posting again. Yes, I'm a dork. :p

I was in the car earlier going to the bank, and I found myself listening to the radio for a few minutes and thinking: Does anyone *else* think that at least 50% of the lead singers in these new alternative/rock groups sound a bloody lot like Eddie Vedder and/or Scott Weiland circa 1993? I'm just sayin'.

I really, really hate the american music scene sometimes. When I was growing up, I knew and liked a lot of bands before the other kids did. I was a proud disciple of Smashing Pumpkins since their first album was released, the rest of the world discovered them after Siamese Dream. (which was *such* a second album, but I liked it, all the same) But the popular kids thought I was just being trendy, even though they were the ones who wouldn't know a Gish track if it clobbered them upside the head. I was the first kid in school with the Hole t-shirt that had the sparky silver heart on the front, and two years later when like 6 other chicks were wearing it around school on a weekly basis, some of them had the nerve to say that *I* hoarked the idea from *them*. Pshaw. Dumb bitches.

And now, fast forward to 2001, when "alternative" has long since stopped being alternative, and everyone's listening to it... but lord only knows why, because the vast majority of the new bands sure as hell don't bring anything new to the table. I can't even tell most of these groups apart anymore, because they all sound the same, and a lot of them sound exactly like stuff that I liked in *middle school*. Listening to these "NEW ROCK!" stations is kind of like the monotony of listening to a Candlebox CD, only applied to like 30 different bands.

I guess the difference between then and now is that back in the day, I knew a hell of a lot more than your average putz about music, and they just thought I was ignorant to it all. But nowadays, I really *am* ignorant to it all, because 95% of the popular radio play is boring crap, and I'm too apathetic towards it to actually find out what all those cookie-cutter bands are called. And that's okay by me... I'll just say "who's that?" and say it with PRIDE as I turn back to something like Bis or Portishead or Nerf Herder, or dance like a moron to cheesy 80's pop and/or hair metal, or retreat into the fun and yaoi-filled world of j-rock. At least then, I can be assured that I have a *good* reason for liking what I like.

And in closing: More LJ fiends! WILKOMMEN KYUUSUKE!!

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 11:17 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios