Aug. 30th, 2001

As if these guys taunting me with tales of the Wil wasn't enough, now I find out that he has his own website. That he makes himself. AND he has a webcam. If that don't beat all..!

Some people might think I'm a pathetic dork for admitting it, but damn, he is cute. And he seems really cool from his web site. He is a semi-pasty gamer boy. He reads many of my favourite web sites. He doesn't take himself too seriously. He puts a picture of a Chia Mr. T as his offline webcam image. He has BIG NERDY GLASSES. He is my geek-boy dream.*

Now y'all know that I don't usually rant this much about celebrity folk, but dude, he is SO MY TYPE. If I were a few years older, and he were unmarried, and if James didn't exist, I would *so* be dating him. Well, assuming he'd give a dork like me the time of day, of course. And no, I'm not going to seek out his skinny blond wife and lock her in the wine cellar to starve and die. And that's *obviously* because I don't have a wine cellar-- uh, I mean, because I'd never do a horrible, evil, nasty thing like THAT. I'm SO over that silly Wesley Crusher fetish, after all. ;p

Anyways, onto better things: Would you believe? I actually worked on Evolution for several hours, behind the scenes. I did a full-scale re-write of the costuming section... it's kind of off-focus because I'm not actually making a Jupiter costume anymore, but I'm hoping that my limited costuming experience will be amusing and/or useful to people. I hope *somebody* appreciates all the work I'm putting into this final version, because lord knows I've had enough Sailorjupiter to last me the next ten YEARS or so.

I took James out to dinner earlier, because A) I wanted to spend some quality time with him before Boss-chan arrives and the whole Y-Con frenzy begins, and B) because he got that Lab Manager job at Brainerd. I knew he'd get it, because he's an absolute whiz with Macintosh computers, and he's reliable, and he's very polite, and Andre already knows him and likes him. Hooray for James! After that we watched A Star Is Born at Felicia's. The rest of the night was devoted to the aforementioned website tinkerings.

And, I'm spent. G'night, folks.

(* That is, of course, only true AFTER we remove James from the selection pool. Because y'know, James is so cute that it'd be just plain unfair to make poor Mr. Wheaton compete with the mighty, geekish hotness that is James. ^_-)
I can't sleep. I have this annoying little canker sore inside my mouth, and I tried to clean/disinfect it a bit and it kinda started to swell. It's going down, albeit slowly.

I got this e-mail earlier this evening about Evolution (which was kind of why I worked on the new version so much tonight) and it kind of reminded me of the reasons why I'm so, so, sick of that site. This kid said that she liked my site and that it was one of her favourites, and then she kind of bitched about how I don't update enough, and how it's *such* an incredible drag, and blah blah blah fishcakes.

I guess it wasn't the content of the message as much as it was the way she said it. Because yeah, I *know* I haven't updated nearly enough. But she sounded so indignant about it, as if I OWED it to her to update the page. And yeah, I realize that I do have an audience that likes my work and wants to see more, but for fuck's sake, I don't *owe* anybody an update. I have a life, and I have other interests, and consequently, I might actually want to think about something *other* than freakin' Sailorjupiter once in a while.

Is anybody paying me to run my small potatoes anime fan site? Hell no. The only compensation I get is the opportunity to search through bitchy e-mails from tongue-tied twelve-year-olds who want me to post more scans, in the hopes that I'll find *one* e-mail that has something good to say, or that registers any semblance of intelligent thought. So no, I don't *owe* anybody a bloody thing when it comes to that web site.

I guess that, in sum, Sailormoon fans just have an incredible aplomb for making me feel wholly unappreciated. It wasn't always like this, but now I just end up pissed off or annoyed whenever I have to deal with this damned site. I'm tempted to say it's because my more mature counterparts have since moved on to bigger and better things, or at least different anime. And I've pretty much moved on too, as evidenced by my negligence in maintaining that old site.

But y'know why I'm *still* dealing with this crap now? Because I'm doing a total re-vamp. I'm re-designing the entire site *and* doing content updates, because I figure that after 5 years, I owe my "fans" at least that much before I abandon the page for good.

And of course, that sounds stupid, because I just got done bitching about how I don't owe them *anything*. I guess I'm just too nice/soft-hearted/nostalgic for my own good.

See, I should be spending my free time on things I enjoy. Like for instance, I need to start drawing for Hidenka 18 again. I've actually thought out the concept over the past few weeks, and it's getting to be really cool. It's one of the few story ideas I've ever had where I've got a beginning and middle, but *not* an end. (usually, I know exactly where I want to go with it, and am just too impatient to fill in the middle part) I just need to, uh, draw it. And I need to get my stupid, stupid scanner to work again. Damnit.

I've decided that I'm going to be uncharacteristically fangirlie and write an e-mail to Wil Wheaton, because I'm a dork. And because he seems to really appreciate his fan mail. And lord knows I need to feel appreciated right now. ;ppppp

Now I've got the munchies. I'm going to go back to bed though, and try to ignore it.
For the last couple weeks I've been half-watching Ferris Bueller's Day Off as I'm falling asleep... amazingly, I haven't gotten sick of it yet. One of the hallmarks of a quality film.

I didn't sleep as late as I did yesterday, so that's good. I'm probably not going to get to the office until this afternoon though, cos the only time James has to get a haircut is between 12:30 and 3:00-ish. Grumble grumble. But, again, there is NO REASON for me to go to work, because there's nooothing to do. But I should at least check in there today anyway, because I'm leaving town this weekend. Not that it matters. :p

Time to sweat. Working out is nice.
I SO have to get one of these for James. Oh my freakin' GOD. ::rotflmao::

Never mind that Sarah Michelle Gellar's only like, 5'3" or something... shortie. :p
James and I just got haircuts. I mainly got my ends trimmed and my layers maintained, so there's not a marked difference, but I don't look like a shaggy pooch anymore, either. And James' hair looks *hot*, I mean, OH MAN! Melt my butta.

One of these days, when I'm feeling less self-conscious and more daring, I'm going to get my hair chopped off again like I did in senior year of high school. Not boy's-hair-short, mind you, more like a chin-length bob. I'd kind of like to get in shape first, though. Maybe I'm going for an overall effect, or something.

But y'know, I don't even have a single picture of how my hair looks when I wear it short, except for a scant few circa 5th grade. And call me crazy, but I'd kind of like the record to show that I actually did something radically different with my look at least once in my life. And I'd like to do that before I get married, have babies, and make the permanent transition to Mom Hair. ;p
Funny pict0r!

Baaahahaha! That's right, The Crap and their overpriced, generic clothing can *bite me*. And so can Old Navy and their stupid, overpriced miniskirts. The only kind of leg I want from them is a chicken leg, and even then there'd probably be a $10 markup per piece. Rotten bastards. :p
The train was like half an hour late, but I managed to find Bossness at Amtrak. She's here now and probably very bored because the role-playing folk are still here, and they kinda require space. I think they're done for the night though, which is good, cos usually when they're out here RPing, I end up sitting in my room putzing around on the computer. ^^;;; And as cool an activity as that might be to do, it would probably be boring as hell to *watch*. ;p

I didn't do nearly as much as I wanted to get done today. Haircut was fine, and I got a couple things at the store, but I didn't get to clean the house or nag the boys about helping clean before I left. And I only got to my laundry about an hour ago, when I wanted to have it done before I even went to Amtrak, so that sucks. x_x And I gotta get the tires rotated tomorrow before we shove off. Grah! Too much.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 03:17 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios