May. 4th, 2001

I just got done doing laundry. Oh, the excitement. ::rotfl::

Other than that, it was a pretty good night. A bunch of us went out to Taste of India, and I managed to figure out what I'd ordered last time and enjoyed so much. (Chicken Makwandala or something funny that starts with an M ^^;;; If I saw it, I'd know it!!) We had a good time of it and the food was quite tasty. I didn't used to think I liked curry, but it has since grown on me.

I watched the Survivor finale, and did I call it or WHAT?! :D I frickin' *nailed* the result... I should have bet money on it like Brad and Scott did! Seriously though, that's probably the biggest reason I kept watching after Rodger got the boot, honestly. The majority of the pleasure I get out of it is analyzing their situation and trying to predict the outcome. But I'm an obsessive freak about this show anyway, so it's probably a good thing that it ended this week.

And, since people have been bringing it up in their LJs, I *have* to address this here: People express their disgruntlement with Survivor because it encourages people to run the political gamut of strategizing, backstabbing, and the whole bit. And yes, one could very easily take it personally if they were the victim of someone else's knife in the back.
BUT, I ask you: Suppose you were playing, say, a game of Risk, or Diplomacy, with a bunch of people you didn't really know, and one of those people forges an alliance with you. For a while, you're both kicking ass, until the other person turns around and decide that you're disposable, and pick you off instead. Would you jump down someone's throat over that? Would you take it so personally? Of course not. You might even consider doing something of the same ilk yourself, if it meant secured victory. Why? Because it's just a stupid game, and it isn't worth the anger or hurt feelings.

Survivor is also a game. Granted, it's a much higher-stakes game, but it's still a game. Watching the behaviour of the people on that program is disconcerting because it's sad but it doesn't necessarily speak of their lack of character. I, myself, would probably tell a blatant fib or two, if I was participating in Survivor and was put in a situation that forced me to, but that doesn't mean I'd do it in any normal, real-life situation. In fact, I'm very much opposed to telling a lie, particularly one that would hurt someone else.

But my point is, there's a difference between lying in an open game of strategy and lying because you're blatantly playing with someone else's feelings. Survivor is a game, and its participants shouldn't be bringing their personal feelings into it.
The best thing since the Chibi Project, here's some more reasearchy fun:

MARSHMALLOW PEEP RESEARCH!

:(

May. 4th, 2001 03:48 pm
I'm at home... I don't feel very well today for some reason. My head hurts, my body hurts, etc. I took a nap earlier, but now I think I want another one.

I really am tired. I'm tired of being tired.

Just a little rest, people. A little freaking REST.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 02:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios