[personal profile] batskeets
SO. Let me tell you about how things have been with my new project manager.

They started out GREAT. Better than great. She's a smart cookie and has some great ideas. She's already helped me make improvements to my proposal format, which I am so so SO grateful for, because I knew I wanted it to be better, but I just didn't know how. She figured it out, and it's so much better.

And, she's added some steps to our client intake process, made project tracking spreadsheets, and a lot of other things that have been super-helpful. She had the answers to everything I didn't know about process, and it felt like things were actually starting to click together.

And then, her soon-to-be-former business partners decided to make their amicable separation into a not-so-amicable one, and now lawyers have been brought into the mix. And, said business partners are throwing upsetting calls and e-mails at her, and coming by her house to have heated discussions about it with her.

And then, her visiting friends took off with her car for an entire day, without telling her they were doing so.

And then, her internet decided to break right before a call with one of my clients, and is apparently still broken. (we managed to work around that for the purposes of the meeting, thanks to some frantically-forwarded e-mails, at least)

And then, within an hour of that, somebody hit her car, and she basically had a panic attack by the side of the road. And then, the doctors gave her meds to calm her down that were way too strong, and that knocked her out asleep for a good 24 hours.

And now, her sister's in the hospital and might lose her baby.

Since then, it's been a good week-and-a-half since I've heard about any actual work happening on her end. I've e-mailed and texted her multiple times, just to check in and see how she's doing, and to ask her where things are at. I've been chill about it, and offered help, and said to let me know if there's anywhere that my assistant or I can jump in to help out, while she gets things sorted. But, more than anything, I've just been asking for an update on where things are at. The most I've been able to get out of her is a couple of updates about what's happening with her personally--I heard the last bit about her sister's illness via text--and promises from her about jumping back into things ASAP. But, I've heard nary a peep from her about what's actually happening with her task list. So, I can only assume that NOTHING is happening with her task list.

I really, really don't want to be a dick about this, because she's basically had the worst run of luck ever over the past two weeks, and you know? I'd probably be an incredible mess under those circumstances, too. I've been a twitchy and miserable sack of madness over less than that, in the past.

But on the other hand, I NEED A FRIGGIN' UPDATE. I'm not even asking her to do anything in particular, I just want to know what has already been done and what hasn't, so I at least have some hope of picking up the slack. I picked up a lot of new clients, which is great, but I don't know who's heard what, or what resources we've asked for, or anything else. The whole point of my having a project manager is because I CAN'T DO ALL OF THIS MYSELF.

There's also a part of my brain that's wondering if maybe she's the type of person for whom there's always something coming up, and that it may not ever stop. I don't want to assume that, but I'd be lying if I said that I wasn't starting to wonder. It's really not a good feeling. :(

We may have a mutual acquaintance whom I can ask about it, so I might do that to at least try and get a better sense of things. I'm going to be so, so disappointed if things don't work out, because there were so many things about this lady that were exactly what my business needed. And she seems like a good fit as a person, too. I really, really want this to work, and I do have metric tons of patience.

But right now, I'm getting pretty damned frustrated, and I really don't need to be freaking out about my clients potentially thinking that we're ignoring them, when I have TT tryouts in less than a week.

Date: 2014-02-26 01:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hooverdam.livejournal.com
How sure are you she's not lying? The bullshit alarms started to sound, for me, about the car accident part.

Date: 2014-02-26 01:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
I don't have a lot of reason to believe that she's lying. Part of the reason why she's so well-suited to the job is because she co-founded her own company that's a fair bit larger and more successful than mine. (she recently left it) I feel like it stands to reason that she's had her shit together at *some* point.

But, yeah, I don't know. I like to take people at face value. And, the aforementioned mutual acquaintance said that she's awesome and totally the person I want to manage the design/web side of things. And that's after he himself interviewed for the position and I didn't give it to him b/c his background was mainly in photography. Still, yeah, I think it might be worth seeing if he has any insight.

Date: 2014-02-26 08:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aniline.livejournal.com
The third party sounds like a great idea to get a better feel for how normal this is for her.

That said - it's a new job, and she's a project manager. She should be able to give you a situation report at one point, especially after being asked for one. That's not a great sign. I hope it's just because she's flustered. :/

Date: 2014-02-26 06:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/_dilate_/
No matter what is going on there is time for a text, call, email.. something. It seems unreasonable to expect to keep a job without some communication. That's a rough spot to be in. I'd set a deadline for progress or firing and stick with it.

Date: 2014-02-26 06:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] matrixleap.livejournal.com
I'm going to comment as though I werte listening to my own boss who is a project manager...if a person is a project manager, they have to have the ability to seperate emotion form the equation in order to get the work that is required finished. After it's finished, THEN they can collapse.

My boss and I actually had a discussion about this when I told him that I was being sued for the accident a few years ago. I freaked out and we talked about this very thing.

That being said, it DOES sound like too many things happened to come up at the exact same moment...which CAN happen, but, that's kind of odd. But, not to get any business updates, makes my own BS meter go off loudly.

Hopefully, everything comes together for her. And you.

Date: 2014-02-27 04:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] helloandie.livejournal.com
holy shit, dude! i do not envy your position. i tend to take things at face value too, and i can totally see myself having this exact reaction: feeling super bad for the girl and at the same time getting suuuper frustrated. i really hope it works out and she can be the project manager you need, especially since it started off on such a high note!

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 06:29 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios