[personal profile] batskeets
So, softball was an amusing romp, indeed. Swinging a bat for the first time in over ten years felt *really* foreign, at first, but once my muscle memory finally kicked in, I had a great time. But, that's not what I want to talk about right now.

See, after the game, I went with Alicia and the rest of the group for wings and beer, and I ordered a spicy-delicious salad as my dinner, and munched away at it while dipping in and out of various conversations around the table. At one point, one of the guys was relating a story, and I remember nothing about the story, aside from the fact that he used the word, "Nerd," in a very derisive and derogatory fashion, several times during the telling of it.

It's been a long, long time since I've heard anyone use Nerd in such a blatantly negative context, and I was NOT a fan. I do self-identify as something of a nerd, and the way this person used the word almost made it feel like a racial slur. Maybe that's an exaggeration that blows the incident out of proportion, but yes, it was hurtful.

I think that's a large part of the reason why I don't get more riled up about things like racial slurs or ethnic stereotypes: because, in the end, it's all just a string of words, and it's the intent behind them that makes the difference in how I will feel, and how I will react.

Genuine ignorance about a culture is still genuine, and a willingness to learn, to open your mind and overcome that ignorance, can make up for a lot of negative history. The sad fact is, there are a lot of ignorant people in our society--and I wouldn't even deign to leave myself out of that sample, because there's plenty that I don't know--and to get angry about the ignorance of the general population has generally felt like a waste of energy to me, past a certain point.

Intent, however, is something I *can* get angry about. Call me a name in jest, and I'll take it in jest. But you could call me a Chink, or a Nerd, or a Fuzzy-Wuzzy Kitten, and if you do it with the intent to hurt and degrade, then I'm going to take it with exactly the intent you put behind it. What you say is far less important than what you mean, and if I'm being insulted, I'm going to respond in kind, no matter what language you use to form that insult. ANY word can be hurtful, when used in a hurtful way.

It's never a bad idea to think before you speak, lest your words be taken to mean something more powerful than you intend them to be. But, to get angry over a word, with no regard for the context it's used in, or the intent that's applied to it? That's pretty foolish.

And yes, I still kind of want to punch the Nerd-Hater in the groin.

Date: 2010-08-06 08:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kaptian.livejournal.com
That's a total blast-from-the-past.

I imagine that sentiment might still be around in the hormone fueled, pre-maturity environment of high school, but I think since the "Revenge of the Nerds" movie, it's been pretty well accepted in the adult world that nerds rock, and are probably your boss/make more money/get more enjoyment from life.

Nerd-bashing? Hey, 1980 called, they want their jock-stereotype back.

Date: 2010-08-06 08:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] daemonwise.livejournal.com
Once I realized that yes, I too am a nerd, I just stopped being around/paying attention to the type that would nerd bash, or use any of the nerd/geek/dork terms in a derogatory sense. Because of that, I just always figured it was still around, and the only reason I didn't get it so much was because of a markedly intentional lack of exposure.

Even with the recent upswing of/takeover by nerd culture, I operate under the assumption that me and mine aren't indicative of the norm ('cause ye gods, we're certainly not in most other areas).

Not to downplay your point or reaction; I agree with you 100%. And if my assumptions have been wrong the entire time, and this is something that had gone away, then well, awesome. And all the more reason to (want to) Falcon-punch nerd-haters in the fork.

I would also say that, for anyone over 20 or so, is 'nerd' really the best you can come up with? It shows a remarkable lack of creativity, if nothing else. If you're gonna go the extra mile and be a fucker, put some effort into it. Degrading people in lumped-together groups is just lazy. ;)

Date: 2010-08-06 10:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Yeah, I think that's half of what made it so shocking to hear: I surround myself with nerds to the point that I just forget they've ever been considered to be anything but awesome.

Date: 2010-08-07 05:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] daemonwise.livejournal.com
Well, that's certainly understandable. After all, nerds are all awesome, all the time.

Date: 2010-08-06 09:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] marykae.livejournal.com
I only ever use nerd in that way when I am talking about, and to Josh, because he is the nerdiest person I know. Even then, it's less derogatory and more shock. Like, he just did something even nerdier than the last thing he did, and I am just like whoa.

Date: 2010-08-06 10:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
I can't see you ever saying "nerd" in as derisive a way as this guy did. It was obviously intended as an full-on insulting adjective in his description of the person he was talking about.

Date: 2010-08-06 10:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] marykae.livejournal.com
Yeah, I am more like "omg you're such a nerd I can't believe it." giggle giggle

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 11:17 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios