[personal profile] batskeets
Yesterday was the longest day I've had in a long time. Not in a bad way, though... just long. Up at 6:00am, which y'all know I don't dig, to get ready for the drive to Eugene. Shooting the conference went fine, though, and afterwards, I got to buy a futurephone, have yummy indian food with friends, and hit up UO Wushu to visit and practice.

I even coached some of the new beginners for a bit on their empty hand forms, to give Nathan a much-needed break from coaching duties, and lord, I've missed that. They had only a couple months' practice under their belts, so they mainly needed more practice for consistency, but I gave them some flavor tips and gave them some stance corrections that'll hopefully save them from the wonderful world of knee problems in the future. I'm glad that I've accumulated as much knowledge about training methods and injury prevention as I have: even if I'm not always motivated enough to use it for my own gains, using that knowledge to help other people is AWESOME.

I really do need to find a way to give back to the wushu community in that way, because teaching people wushu (well, people over the age of 10, anyway) is something I'd probably never get tired of. And, unfortunately, the wushu school is not the place for me to do that; the kind of community I function best in as a teacher is one where I can be more of a Helpful Friend than an Authoritarian. I'm not a wise old Sifu, and I'm more interested in creating a solid understanding than in demanding ultimate respect at all times.

Anyhoo, I finally got home and got to sleep around 2am, and then of *course* I wake up before the alarm this morning, because my body apparently hates me. Go go gadget 5 hours of sleep. :p

I'm going to have an epic sleep on the plane to LA tomorrow morning. I hope.

Date: 2010-04-15 08:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] helloandie.livejournal.com
OooOOOooo what KIND of futurephone?

Date: 2010-04-15 09:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
You have obviously not been on Twitter! It's an iPhone. ;)

Date: 2010-04-15 09:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Yeah, I definitely considered getting a Google phone or something, but I was getting increasingly annoyed at T-Mobile's spotty coverage area, so switching providers actually sounded pretty good by the time I decided to get the phone.

Date: 2010-04-15 09:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] helloandie.livejournal.com
yes, i've heard that about t-mobile. luckily i stay in my own little 20 mile radius mostly and tmobile is strong in that 20 mile radius. it beats the HELL out of sprint, anyway! i have an ipod touch i use for work (app dev) which i'm told is basically the same thing as an iphone only without the phone bit and i love the display and the touch sensitivity. don't get me wrong, i adore my g-1, but sometimes the OS gets really bogged down and becomes super slow and that makes me scream at it. SCREAM AT IT.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 09:30 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios