Oy. It was good to be home for a weekend... and I even had a completely free day in it!
Friday night had me dashing over to
marykae's to watch musicals and be silly for a while, because Claudia was in town! They were watching Dr. Horrible when I got there, which is *never* a bad thing, and then we started watching Grease because Claudia had never seen it. (!!) I wish I could've stayed longer, but it was fun to at least be there for a little while. AND I'm looking forward to taking pretty portraits of Claudia on her next visit. :)
Then, it was off to Game Night, hosted this month by
rmalena! Things were already beyond silly when I arrived, and they just got even more silly over the course of the evening. I'm sure I'm to blame for at least some of it, because I *did* go on a beer run while they finished their round of Dominion. XD We played Shadows Over Camelot, which we amazingly managed to win, despite a horrifically bad start, and then capped things off with a few rounds of The Great Dalmuti and goofing around after.
I had some photo edits to take care of on Saturday, and then it was off to
bellybalt's for a Passover Seder hosted by
herince_emyn. The weather was gorgeous, so we got to enjoy the backyard deck while smells of brisket and matzoh ball soup wafted out the kitchen window. Emmy led us through an abbreviated version of the Seder readings, and of *course* we were wisecracking throughout, but it was a great time, and oh my LORD, the FOOD. Matzoh ball soup, brisket, latkes, way too friggin' much noodle kugel, and then baked apples with caramel and granola for dessert, along with macaroons! And, of course, more than a few splashes of Manschewitz for everyone. I haven't been that stuffed in a LONG time, heh.
After that, a few of us went up to a random party at Casa de
_fool, and kicked it there for a while. I was expecting a crazy party--when you hear the words, "liquor luge," it does have a way of setting your expectations towards the Wild end of the scale--but it was actually fairly mellow (well, comparatively speaking), so that was both nice and odd at the same time. But still, SO WORTH IT just to see people I haven't seen in a while. And there was also trampolining, which is never a bad thing.
I had a completely free day on Sunday, so I wound up doing my own thing for a bit, and a few boring errand things like going to Trader Joe's. But, I DID do the important step of moving furniture, and then masking and painting the last of the walls to be painted purple in my room! The one remaining wall is mostly window, and won't require me to move much furniture. I decided to do that in the green to help balance out the green nook on the opposite side of the room. Hopefully that'll get done this week... and THEN I can really start decorating and putting the whole thing together.
I also got to kick back with
katlyn for a couple hours, which was really nice. She made some tasty salmon for us both and we chatted and sipped on tea and watched some Season 2 Buffy episodes. It's been a while since I've initiated a friend hang-out session that wasn't planned around a specific activity days in advance, and it's also been at least a couple years since I've had friends whom I felt comfortable doing that with. I feel blessed. :)
Speaking of planning in advance,
saofoir and I had talked about party-sharing a few days ago, and at first it sounded like a good plan. But then I saw how gigantic the guest list would be (i.e. way bigger than my house can probably accommodate without bringing cops to my front doorstep), and from there, we basically figured out that we each wanted different things for our birthday. My 30th is apparently more important to me than I thought it was, and I feel like a dick for not realizing that sooner. BUT, I'd feel much, MUCH worse if she wound up being unhappy with her birthday because of me. :/
SO, we're back to separate parties now. But hey, that just means we can celebrate with each other TWICE! :D And it'll be a lot of fun. I'm also hoping to have my room fancied up enough that I can open it up for my party, and we can use the deck, if the weather's nice enough. I'm finally starting to get ideas for what to do and how to make it happen logistically, and I am effin' EXCITED.
Friday night had me dashing over to
Then, it was off to Game Night, hosted this month by
I had some photo edits to take care of on Saturday, and then it was off to
After that, a few of us went up to a random party at Casa de
I had a completely free day on Sunday, so I wound up doing my own thing for a bit, and a few boring errand things like going to Trader Joe's. But, I DID do the important step of moving furniture, and then masking and painting the last of the walls to be painted purple in my room! The one remaining wall is mostly window, and won't require me to move much furniture. I decided to do that in the green to help balance out the green nook on the opposite side of the room. Hopefully that'll get done this week... and THEN I can really start decorating and putting the whole thing together.
I also got to kick back with
Speaking of planning in advance,
SO, we're back to separate parties now. But hey, that just means we can celebrate with each other TWICE! :D And it'll be a lot of fun. I'm also hoping to have my room fancied up enough that I can open it up for my party, and we can use the deck, if the weather's nice enough. I'm finally starting to get ideas for what to do and how to make it happen logistically, and I am effin' EXCITED.
no subject
Date: 2010-03-29 08:45 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-03-29 08:50 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-03-29 10:22 pm (UTC)Awwww... impromptu is awesomeness. This brought tears to my eyes (in a good way, of course) and I'm really, really darned happy that you and I got to hang out. *hugs tight*
no subject
Date: 2010-03-30 01:16 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-03-30 02:51 am (UTC)