So lame.

Oct. 5th, 2009 03:11 pm
[personal profile] batskeets
Got through the Marathon yesterday just fine. I managed to wear myself out enough on Saturday to go to bed early, so I was actually awake and (gasp!) feeling *good* the whole time. 8 1/2 HOURS of shooting, so lots of money in the pockets. The only downer was that Boy and I got stuck doing "medal shots" for 7 of the 8 1/2 hours, and we haaaate doing medal shots.

Race shoots are, generally, not the most creatively stimulating work. When you're hired to shoot a race, they generally want a very specific type of shot that they can sell to the runner, and you shoot these over-and-over, and you don't get to experiment. Medal shots are even *worse*, because you're dealing with the runners right after they've crossed the finish line and gotten their medal. So, they're hobbling along feeling like DEATH, and you have to get in their faces and ask them to smile for a photo, when all they want is to be left alone for five lousy minutes.

So, yeah, that was pretty lame. By the end of it, if I'd had to say, "can you show your number?" one more time, I'd probably have punched someone in the nuts. But, at least it didn't rain, right?

Physical Therapy is going well, or at least, I figure it must be, because we're scaling back my appointments to 1x/week instead of 2x/week. Today we did more jumping drills, and also some stuff with the "sport cord." The latter involved me putting on this wide belt with a big bungee cord is attached to it, and then jogging forwards and backwards while my therapist held me back with the other end of the cord. Holy poo! It was crazy.

And, since I strained my hamstring a bit recently, I now have hot pink Kinesio-tape on the back of my legs. Fashion statement! But seriously, it's supposed to help support the muscle, so the strain doesn't get worse. I'm continually surprised by all the random techniques and apparatus being introduced to me through this whole process.

Anyhoo, I am resolving to eat clean at least for the rest of the month today, so please don't mail me cookies or anything. Last night we met up with Nathan at the White Eagle, and I had two fancy-schmancy libations, and then horfed down a pita and hummus plate and some of Boy's cajun tots. And now I feel like crap today.

So, yeah, I really need to just get my ass back on the wagon. I've been *maybe* halfway-on since getting back from PAX, and it's certainly not doing my body any favors. Half-assed effort is just a waste of time... I deserve full-assed effort! ;p

Also, not drinking for a long time has made it *super* easy for me to get buzzed on one or two drinks, instead of the 80000 it used to take me most times. I rather like being a cheap date!

Date: 2009-10-05 11:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] circeramone.livejournal.com
Your last line reminded me of a shirt I used to own. It said "If you are what you eat, them I'm fast, cheap, and easy!" Sadly, my mom came across it while doing my laundry on one of my college breaks, and it mysteriously disappeared into the Abyss.

How sticky is the Kinesio tape? I mean, do you have to re-apply it a couple of times a day? And if not, how's your skin holding up underneath? Do you have to wear the tape all day? It just occurred to me that these questions are kinda personal/random. Feel free to ignore them if you so desire. ;-)

Date: 2009-10-05 11:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
HAHAHA. You have the best shirts!

I can't really see the tape very well, because, well, seeing the back of your own thighs ain't easy, but it kind of looks like spandex with a sticky side. I guess I'm supposed to keep it on for the next few days, and it must be pretty sticky to stay on that long, but I can barely tell that it's there unless I'm actually moving my legs.

Date: 2009-10-06 02:16 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] circeramone.livejournal.com
On a totally different note...you keep referring to "clean eating". I'm unfamiliar with that, and currently far too lazy to google it. Any chance you feel like enlightening me?

Date: 2009-10-07 05:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
I'm using the term pretty loosely, but it's basically about eating whole foods and things that are not processed and don't have scary fillers and additives. People who are really hardcore about it will also avoid all sugar, flour, and starches, but I'm not that disciplined and bread is yummy.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 06:34 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios