At last!

Apr. 21st, 2009 11:17 am
[personal profile] batskeets
Belt test today, which means that Friday should be when I finally move up to competition class. HELL YES FINALLY. I've been really impatient for this promotion... it's been so difficult to stay motivated through these lower belt ranks. It's uninspiring when you're the best in the class without really trying, and I'm capable of more, but I need a challenge I can rise to. Hopefully, I'll get that, at LAST.

Speaking of doing more, my 30-Day Shred DVD came in! I'm ridiculously excited about that, heh. Belt tests aren't very taxing (lots more sitting around than normal class), so I *might* even try it tonight. Muahaha.

I'm feeling oddly shy about doing the DVD in front of my roommates, though. The only time I'm guaranteed to have for myself is in the morning before work; the rest of the time, there'll be dudes walking through the living room while I do my thing. It's hard to carve out your own time and space. I'm not sure what to do about that, but I suppose I'll grin and bear it. Or start working out in the mornings. ^^;

I've never been self-conscious about going to the gym, but working out in front of people who know me seems... weird? Training has never been something I've been able to share with friends. I sometimes become friends with the people who train alongside me, like at UO, but it's never been the other way around. I suppose I've always felt very alone in my pursuit of health and wellness, and it'd be nice if that could change.

Anyhoo, last weekend was good. Had to do the birthday thing on Saturday, and Hattie's choice was to go to the big Xanadu event at Bagdad. She had us get there early, so hanging out beforehand was very nice and chill. The movie was cheesetacular, but not quite enough to keep it from being boring, heh. Sunday yielded a bike ride to Sellwood and back with Katie, some tidying around the house, and a dinner of caprese salad and manicotti courtesy of Erick. I'm loving the sun right now, and even got a bit of pink across my nose after the bike ride. :D

Date: 2009-04-21 09:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] katlyn.livejournal.com
What?!? There was a Xanadu showing?!!!!?????


*sighs*


Good luck on your belt test!

Date: 2009-04-21 09:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Yeah, the Xanadu thing was during Glo's housewarming. :/ There was an 80's costume contest, too, but hardly anyone came!

Date: 2009-04-21 10:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] virgoqueen7.livejournal.com
That's RAD you're moving up!!! How exciting! Is it a cool color at least? Like Magenta? Violet? Teal? ;)
I'm really weird about working out in front of people I know too. A gym is nothing to me since I'm totally zoned out, but in front of people I know just makes me really self conscious. I hope you're able to find a little alone time here and there that doesn't involve Dudes walking around. Haha

Date: 2009-04-22 08:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Heh, it's red with a white stripe! I saw saying the other day they should let you pick special colors once you get to black belt, haha :)

I'm glad it's not just me! People who know you sometimes get kind of weird about it when you change up your training, or make a big deal, etc. I just want to do my thing, I don't really need the verbal back-patting.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:36 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios