[personal profile] batskeets
(can you tell it's been boring at work lately?)

Association Meme: Comment to this post and I will give you 5 subjects/things I associate you with. Then post this in your LJ and elaborate on the subjects given.

[livejournal.com profile] katlyn gave me these:

1. Fashion(able) - I do fashion photography sometimes, and apparently people think I know how to dress! I never really think of myself as fashionable, though, because I don't keep up on trends. In fact, I generally ignore them, unless I'm specifically asked to be on-trend for a project or publication.

Honestly, I've never really looked at the fashion world as somewhere I'd place myself. I never felt comfortable with girly things when I was younger, because I wasn't skinny and was also very clumsy. By the time I got over that, I'd long since decided that there were more interesting and important things in life to waste my time on. ;) I feel that I'm an observer and a creative, but certainly not a fashionista by any stretch.

2. Gold Jumpsuit - HAHAHA. I'm not 100% sure what this refers to... but I'm assuming the Bruce Lee costume? XD

Well, if we're going with that, I bought the jumpsuit entirely because of the last time I got a free haircut via hair modeling, which yielded "a sassy, girly Bruce Lee cut." Then I thought, OMG LET'S BE BRUCE LEE FOR HALLOWEEN, so I found the thing on eBay and ordered it. The jumpsuit is modeled after the one he wore in Game of Death, and it's still kicking around in my closet somewhere.

3. Buffy - Yes, I am a Buffy fan, and Buffy Night was an ongoing weekly event/tradition for me and mine, while it was still airing. I originally jumped in around Season 4, but even though I hadn't seen much of the Buffy/Angel romance, I still knew that I didn't like Captain Cardboard. ;) I did go back and watch some of the older eps, once they started airing on FX, but I haven't seen all of them.

4. Swords - I like swords. (haha) Thanks to my ongoing wushu obsession, I know a couple different basic straightsword forms, and part of the compulsory form. I also know basic and compulsory broadsword, and will (theoretically) be doing the compulsory at competition in April. Once I learn southern broadsword (a.k.a. Nandao), the circle of my swordiness will be complete! Well, at least until I get too old-and-creaky for Wushu and switch to Taiji. ;)

Last time I competed in broadsword, I got a gold medal, but it was due to lack of other competitors. However, the time before that, I came in 2nd, and that was in spite of hitting myself in the face with my sword. (see here at 0:36)

5. Queen - I don't think that Queen songs are completely my favorite to karaoke, but they're certainly near the top of the list, and are *always* fun. When I think I'm actually going to get to sing more than once, I'll pick a Queen song as a "warm up" of sorts, and that gets me fired up enough to do a song that feels more challenging and/or less familiar. Really, how can you NOT feel like a bad-ass while wailing it like Freddie Mercury?

The course does not always run smooth, though. I crashed and burned on Somebody To Love *twice* onstage before finally getting it down decent. Freddie, you are a cruel master. ;)

Date: 2009-03-13 01:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sarapada.livejournal.com
Oooh oooh me!!

(P.S. Freddie IS a cruel master!)

Date: 2009-03-13 05:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Yay! In no particular order:

Scents
Games
Massage
Friends
Bend

Date: 2009-03-13 02:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] katlyn.livejournal.com
Hehehe. That is indeed the gold jumpsuit I was referring to, though it would have been funny if you had gone off on some story about Elvis in the third grade or something. ;P

<3

Date: 2009-03-13 02:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] katlyn.livejournal.com
And OMG those videos are AMAZING!!!11!! I really wish I could go to Berkely to see you now! When is it happening? I was planning on a road trip to SF/SLO sometime in the next few months.

(Yah, I'm such a sap. I started crying watching the videos. You rawk.)

Date: 2009-03-13 05:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
I'm sure you're the same way about your own performances, but I am so nonplussed by those videos, because I can see like 1000 things that I did wrong. XD But I *was* hella nervous and also got very fitful sleep the night before, so it could've been much worse.

The changquan set *was* complete balls, though. ;) I psyched myself out way too much on that one.

Anyhoo, the tournament is April 11th! I'm still trying to figure out how I'm getting there and where I'm staying... the UO team vans/hotels are apparently already packed to the gills. Ooops!

Date: 2009-03-13 05:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
P.S. When I say, "I'm sure you're the same way about your own performances," I mean in the sense that, because you actually DO the activity, you know all the little details and intricacies that the average viewer might miss, and thusly it's easier to be hard on yourself. :) So while y'all would be like "OMG WOW AWESOME," I'll be thinking, "oops, that backsweep was kind of ass!"
Edited Date: 2009-03-13 05:43 pm (UTC)

Date: 2009-03-13 03:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] virgoqueen7.livejournal.com
Here are 5 that make me think of you:

- Photographer
- Fashionista
- Ass Kicking Expert
- ACDC Karaoke
- HIRO

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 10:04 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios