First, a question: What are you Portlanders doing for Halloween? I had the thought of having a Housewarming Halloween Party, but I wouldn't want to do that if a bunch of y'all are already throwing, or otherwise committed to, other Halloween parties.
Anyhoo! Back on topic: I had to process this one in a hurry, because the guy wanted to send it in to a casting this week. Fortunately, all it really needed was a couple of minor touchups. (sweat stains on the shirt, mainly)

Action shots are not the easiest thing in the world. I think the challenge for me was hitting the shutter at the right time to catch them in-focus! Lighting the scene was the easy part--well, aside from climbing around thorny bushes to place the effin' strobes--but man, the timing. Fortunately, once you fall into a rhythm, it does get better.
Still sick today. Boo-urns.
Anyhoo! Back on topic: I had to process this one in a hurry, because the guy wanted to send it in to a casting this week. Fortunately, all it really needed was a couple of minor touchups. (sweat stains on the shirt, mainly)

Action shots are not the easiest thing in the world. I think the challenge for me was hitting the shutter at the right time to catch them in-focus! Lighting the scene was the easy part--well, aside from climbing around thorny bushes to place the effin' strobes--but man, the timing. Fortunately, once you fall into a rhythm, it does get better.
Still sick today. Boo-urns.
no subject
Date: 2008-10-02 12:44 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-10-02 01:09 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-10-02 02:55 am (UTC)Also, nice pic. I gotta get me some of that lighting stuff. And a real camera. But first, a winning lottery ticket or something.
no subject
Date: 2008-10-05 10:41 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-10-07 08:57 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-10-08 01:10 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-10-08 02:31 am (UTC)The Canon EOS series has a similar function. The 20D does focus tracking so the AF will change as a subject moves closer to you, then it locks in as soon as you hit the shutter. Not quite as cool as just holding the button. Just set it to AI Servo using the AF/WB button. It looks like it may only work in the "Creative Zone" modes... I haven't tried it myself. Looks like the 5D does the same, but it explicitly says it works in anything but full auto mode.