Flipping out!
Sep. 10th, 2007 09:21 amI had a dream last night where I was busting out backflips all over the place. I was in a big outdoor tennis court sort of area, except that the entire ground was covered in soft mats. I crashed on my knees the first couple of times, but after that, I was just hopping around the whole place going flip, flip, flip...
...does this mean I'll get to add a gainer to my nanquan form soon? Visualization is supposed to pay off, right? ;)
Saturday's activities took us to the Rembrandt exhibit at the art museum, because of a family visit... y'all know I'm not much of an art museum person, and the place was packed to the gills when we were there, but there was some amazing and lifelike art to be had in there. The idea that someone could take a 1/4-inch of space and depict a salt-of-the-earth person who is toiling in a field, with the tiniest of details, just boggles the mind. Seeing paint colors meld together into real-life forms so seamlessly that the colors no longer feel separate, that the end result seems almost photographic in its realism? Well, jeez, how can I not be impressed? :)
Speaking of family visits, *my* parents are theoretically going to be up here sometime next month. They don't get up this way very often--Ma doesn't really travel much at all, in fact--so that's going to be nice. I'll have to figure out some things to do...
Oh yeah, we saw Superbad on Friday at the beer theater--after intending to see 3:10 To Yuma and getting the times wrong, oops--and it was actually pretty fun. The adverts looked stupid, so I'd intended on ignoring it, but enough people had positive things to say that I was willing to give it a go. (of course, people also did that with Borat, and look how *that* turned out :p) The cop scenes alone were worth the price of admission, heh.
The only complaint I have right now is that the house is driving me NUTS. The ceiling started leaking in the basement yesterday, and we've concluded that it's due to crappy grout/caulk in the main floor shower.YAY! Landlord is supposed to get someone out to fix it, soon, but it's irritating, nonetheless. Also, it seems that the flea issue is worst in the upstairs, because A) it's where Thomas, and thusly, the cats, slept, and B) it's thickly carpeted. We're all fired up now, though, and have some evil plans for getting rid of them, so hopefully that'll get resolved soon, because I am itching like crazy.
We had some good times shooting yesterday, too, but I'll go into that once I have some pictures to show. :D
...does this mean I'll get to add a gainer to my nanquan form soon? Visualization is supposed to pay off, right? ;)
Saturday's activities took us to the Rembrandt exhibit at the art museum, because of a family visit... y'all know I'm not much of an art museum person, and the place was packed to the gills when we were there, but there was some amazing and lifelike art to be had in there. The idea that someone could take a 1/4-inch of space and depict a salt-of-the-earth person who is toiling in a field, with the tiniest of details, just boggles the mind. Seeing paint colors meld together into real-life forms so seamlessly that the colors no longer feel separate, that the end result seems almost photographic in its realism? Well, jeez, how can I not be impressed? :)
Speaking of family visits, *my* parents are theoretically going to be up here sometime next month. They don't get up this way very often--Ma doesn't really travel much at all, in fact--so that's going to be nice. I'll have to figure out some things to do...
Oh yeah, we saw Superbad on Friday at the beer theater--after intending to see 3:10 To Yuma and getting the times wrong, oops--and it was actually pretty fun. The adverts looked stupid, so I'd intended on ignoring it, but enough people had positive things to say that I was willing to give it a go. (of course, people also did that with Borat, and look how *that* turned out :p) The cop scenes alone were worth the price of admission, heh.
The only complaint I have right now is that the house is driving me NUTS. The ceiling started leaking in the basement yesterday, and we've concluded that it's due to crappy grout/caulk in the main floor shower.
We had some good times shooting yesterday, too, but I'll go into that once I have some pictures to show. :D
no subject
Date: 2007-09-10 07:37 pm (UTC)buy a canister of normal table salt. salt all of the carpet. vacuum an hour later. this will kill a lot of them.
get some floating candles, and put one in a big bowl of water at night. the fleas will see the light, jump in the water, and drown. muaha.
get some bug bomb. this is the most trustworthy method. get about twice as much as you need for the square footage or the house. seriously. MAKE SURE it says fleas on the can, too. some are only good for roaches or spiders. just PAY ATTENTION to the bottle and put all food in air tight containers. dishes, too. if you can fit all of your dishes and food in your fridge, that works best. then stay gone about 2 hours more than it says too, because you just fogged the place out.
that has worked for me in the past when i had persistent fleas. i had no pet at the time, either!
no subject
Date: 2007-09-10 07:47 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-09-10 08:37 pm (UTC)Mokuzen looks to have expired - wasn't sure if you knew or not. I know when Splashyweb expires it usually takes me awhile to find out... like when I can't check email.
no subject
Date: 2007-09-13 05:11 pm (UTC)