quickie

May. 11th, 2007 04:12 pm
[personal profile] batskeets
The shoot today was pretty fun. The theme was "watermelon seed spitting day," so it involved me and another Asian guy being all dolled up at a trendy Japanese restaurant, pretending to eat watermelon and spit seeds at each other. We didn't get to *actually* eat any, though, because the "seeds" were actually black beans! Must be one of the secrets of food photography that they don't tell you about.

Anyhoo, it was a fun little gig, and I got to make some crazy faces (which they dug), so I think it went pretty well, and I did, in fact, get paid. I may post some photos, once I get them. I also spent a lot of the time getting prepped in the ol' makeup chair by a relaxed-and-groovy girl, so I'm (still) wearing a ridiculous amount of eyeliner right now! Don't get me wrong, it's pretty cute, but it's a little too much for daytime, heh.

The waiting game is almost over on that one job I was hoping to get, too. Pheeewww! They kept telling me that nothing was wrong or anything, but it's hard not to get a little worried when they keep you waiting for long enough. Today has been a pretty good day, and I'm looking forward to the weekend. I kind of feel like I should go out or something, since I have this fancy makeup job on me.

Anyhoo, I have to boogie on down to white belt wushu, so I'm off. :)

Date: 2007-05-12 08:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cmsunflash.livejournal.com
Hey that shoot sounds awesome; do we get to see pics? :)

By the way, how did you get started doing photoshoots? It sounds like fun...I've thought about doing something of the sort in my spare time. Do you look up postings online for people who need models? Or do you just know people? :)

And also, what do you think of the Portland wushu school? My brother's graduating soon and if he ends working in Portland I'm going to make him go do wushu. :D I hear David practices there too?

Date: 2007-05-14 10:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
I don't have pics yet, but when I do, I'll post!

I get wind of a lot of the modeling stuff through Craigslist, nowadays. Just look in Talent and Creative gigs; there's a fair bit of chaff to sort through, (spam from crappy online networking /casting sites, people who only want to do boring art nudes, etc.) but there is some legit stuff there, too.

As for the wushu school... heh, I have my sources of disgruntlement, but they're largely because I'm having to do n00b-level stuff in a class with little kids, in spite of having 3 1/2 years of experience. But yeah, I'll get over that. ;)

Anyhoo, the place is definitely spendy, and you're getting 45-minute classes instead of the 2 hours we got at UO, but like Phil told me, "it's real wushu." They do know their stuff, and they'll build good basics and technique.

Some of the kids who joined UO Wushu last fall came from the school in Portland, and they generally had clean technique and good flavor, but were lacking more in power and stamina. That's just my $0.02, though. :)

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 11:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios