[personal profile] batskeets
The first thing I heard out of J's mouth today was, "Rar!! SIXTY!!" This is because he hit Lv. 60 on WoW last night. Showoff. ;pppp

(for those who are geeky and curious, I'm still just shy of 52. Sigh.)

I completely forgot to grab a microwave lunch out of the freezer this morning, so had another one of those panini sandwiches from the Bier Stein today. Yes, it is still really good. Go forth and eat!

I'm thinking that, to improve my jumping, I may try this training plan sometime soon. Yeah, I guess it's originally for volleyball players, but 8-14 inches on my vertical could have me busting crazy wushu jumps and 720s and such. And only 3x/week? I can handle that!! :D

In other news, I have been invited on a rafting trip that's set to happen in a couple of weeks. W00t! It's one of those things that I've always meant to try at least once, but that I never got around to doing, so it should be rather interesting. Apparently, this will also be a very n00b-friendly run, so hopefully I won't die or anything. :)

MEME TAIMU: Even though I didn't count exactly right, because some of the interests are old and moldy and not-so-accurate, I'm doing this one:

Look at your LJ "interests" list. If you have fewer than 50 interests, pick every fifth one. If you have between fifty and seventy-five interests, pick every seventh one. If you have over seventy-five interests, pick every tenth one. If you have fewer than ten, pick all of 'em. List them on your LJ, and tell everyone exactly what it is about these things that interests you so much.

big feet - Big feet. I've got them. Size 11, to be precise. I put this here to A) be silly, and B) possibly find other big-footed people who would commiserate with me on the misery of trying to buy big, not-ugly shoes.

cheese - I cannot live without cheese. So many delicious, delicious varieties. So many ways to enjoy it!

cowboy bebop - One of my favorite anime series! I like the characters, the story, and I *love* the soundtrack. Random related tidbit: One of the dogs who could have been Gizmo's father was a Welsh Corgi, like Ein! :D

dutch bros. - Yeah, Starbuck's is okay and everything, but Dutch Bros. is my favorite when I need a morning pick-me-up. They're also a local-ish company, and I think they are at least slightly cheaper, too. Whee!

gaming - Games are fun. Computer games, card games, video games, RPGs, board games... I'll play any old kind, really! Well, except LARPs. Those are a little much, even for me. ;p

japanese guy yell - I think this started--for me anyway--when [livejournal.com profile] pyrobaby and I were watching Weiss Kreuz tour videos, and Seki Tomokazu would be yelling "SAAAAAIIIGOOOOO!!!" or something unintelligible. There is a certain way that Japanese guys yell, and I totally can't replicate it, but we found it wildly amusing.

knitting - Knitting is fun. I first learned it in high school from [livejournal.com profile] shannidee, for a role in a play, and then I promptly forgot about it until [livejournal.com profile] craftyran infected us all with knitting/crochet fever a summer or two ago. I still like to do it; it's actually pretty relaxing, now that I'm accustomed to it.

mr. t - I pity the foo' who don't like Mr. T!

perl - I haven't had a chance to write much in Perl as of late, but it's probably my favorite programming language. It's very friendly to learn.

rent - My favorite musical ever. (well, except perhaps Phantom of the Opera, but that's got nostalgia value to boost its favor with me) Seen it twice, loved it both times. I think I still have all the songs mostly memorized. :D

singing - The aforementioned nostalgia for Phantom is because I was obsessed with it while I was in high school choir. I love singing and I wish the timbre of my voice was even half as good as my pitch, so I could actually find a nice, not-sucky group to sing with. At this point, it seems like it's karaoke or bust.

subtitles - There ain't no better way to watch anime, or any foreign film. Bad dubbing makes my ears bleed, unless it's so astonishingly bad that it becomes funny.

the mad capsule markets - A great Japanese punk band that went more towards electronic music in the later stages of their career. They can still punk it out, though, and they have some pretty slammy bass lines.

web design - Well, I obviously like web design a lot, or I wouldn't choose it as a career. :) It's perfect for the constantly clashing artistic and analytical sides of my brain.

That's all for now.

Date: 2005-09-08 10:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sarapada.livejournal.com
Re: rafting, are you doing the "everybody rows" kind of rafting, or the "one guy rows" kind of rafting? (Fancy technical terms, eh?) The only time I've ever been rafting, there were like 6 of us in the raft, and just one guy sat in the middle and rowed. Whereas my mom went whitewater rafting and had to knock her friend back in the boat with her oar as they were all paddling. The kind I did was extremely n00b-friendly, but my mom's version is more commonly referred to when people say "rafting", from what I hear.

Date: 2005-09-08 11:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
I think it's the sort where you have a guide, and they tell you when to paddle and such... apparently it's gonna be mostly n00bs on the trip, though, so I figure it probably won't be a super-intense route. :)

Date: 2005-09-08 11:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] whiteraevyn.livejournal.com
I'm about to crack 60 on my second char. 'Cause I'm sad like that. I also have a 42. And a 20. And an 18. And a 16.

I need to stop playing this game.

Date: 2005-09-08 11:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Heh, I haven't cracked 60 yet on any of mine, but I also have a 32, a 22, and an 11. There's a reason why we call it World of Warcrack :)

Date: 2005-09-08 11:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bad-juice.livejournal.com
Are you gonna see the movie version of Rent when it comes out later this year? If you do, let me know how it is cause I can't see it cause it goes against my principles.

Date: 2005-09-09 12:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
LOL, how does it go against your principles?

And yeah, I'll likely go see it. Especially considering they got like, all of OBC except Daphne Rubin-Vega on board for the movie. I'm sure I'll post about it when I do :)

Date: 2005-09-09 12:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bad-juice.livejournal.com
Chris Columbus directed it. Director of Home Alone, Home Alone 2, Stepmom, Mrs. Doubtfire, etc. He is among my list of directors who I will never under any circumstances see another movie by. No matter what. Even if a movie comes out and everyone, even the most jaded, hardened, pessimistic movie fans, tells me that it's great, the best of the year. Even then. No. I even heard pretty good things about the first two Harry Potter movies. But, no. I am steadfast. Even if it's the truth, it feels like a half-assed attempt at absolution after causing me so much misery.

Though I did watch, and actually love, Gremlins. Which he wrote. But it took a lot of convincing to get me to watch it.

Date: 2005-09-09 12:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Oh, crap, I totally missed that he was directing. Sigh, I hope he manages to not muck it up too badly, or I may have to join you in your boycott. ;p You don't fuck around with Rent!

Date: 2005-09-09 12:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bad-juice.livejournal.com
How did you feel about his Harry Potter movies? If you liked them you might still enjoy Rent. It appears(from what I've heard) his method of adaptation is to be as bland and invisible as possible, infusing the material with no sense of his own personality. Which seems to be what most purists are after in a book/stage play to film adaptation.

Isn't he also producer on HP #3 and 4?

Date: 2005-09-09 01:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kitsileya.livejournal.com
I think he's also producer on the Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire. Does your boycot extend to movies he's only produced as well? When you list his movies, I must admit that it's not a very inspiring list, and I have started worrying about RENT.

He did 3, but not 4

Date: 2005-09-09 03:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bad-juice.livejournal.com
I saw Harry Potter 3 and didn't hate it. But producers are more or less not really part of the creative process. They're the movie's businessman. Making sure everything gets done on time and for the amount of money they have to spend. It's a necessary job, but, judging from the movie, I don't think they got in Alfonso Cuaron's way very much. If at all.

Columbus also did Bicentennial Man and Nine Months, neither of which I've seen.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios