[personal profile] batskeets
Starting the day with an excellent step class, and then lifting for the first time in a while, and discovering that, no, you haven't actually lost very much strength: THUMBS UP!

Trying to practice some wushu after lifting, and totally screwing up the jumps, and even though you probably overexerted yourself doing all that other stuff first, it's still kind of a downer: THUMBS DOWN.

Getting free plane tickets to see your fambly, because your dad has frequent flyer miles that he needs to use: THUMBS UP!

Not getting to log on to WoW like you wanted, because you spent the whole bloody afternoon cleaning yourself and your house: THUMBS DOWN.

Going to fun birthday party and gorging yourself on cake and pizza: THUMBS UP!

Singing karaoke--and harmonizing while doing it, even--and playing DDR while at said party: THUMBS UP!

Giving people a ride to the movie theatre, only to get a flat tire while puttering around the parking lot: THUMBS DOWN.

Seeing Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and watching Johnny Depp act like a crazy man: THUMBS UP!

Having cool people from work help you with changing the flat tire, because even though you know, in theory, how to change a tire, doing it in the pitch dark when the lug nuts are screwed on ridiculously tight is not exactly ideal: THUMBS UP!

Missing out on a juicy, medium steak because it was probably 1am after you put on the spare and got home, and everyone was asleep: THUMBS DOWN.

-------------

So yeah, overall, I had a good day. :) The flat tire kind of ticked me off, but it didn't cause me to panic or anything, so it could have been much worse. Also, I have clean clothes and a clean kitchen, and I half-watched some random stuff on the Biography channel, so the cleaning wasn't too dreary.

As for today? I'm going to play WoW, because I didn't get to yesterday! Thumbs up! But, I should probably try to tidy up *something* in my office, first, because it's still a big mess in here. Oh, and that's a big Thumbs Down.

hello izzyw

Date: 2005-07-18 01:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] damnathan1.livejournal.com
I is happy you are doing taiji Quan and Wushu. I think wushu is what Jet Li first did as a kid. I may be wrong. So how far into Taiji are you going? Are you going deep "36 chambers" kind of into Taiji or just "medatative and practical with concepts in wushu" into it. Either way, I believe you will make a most excellent practitioner and a joy to all your classmates and teacher. I hope you have fun travels in WoW and I will be on in the morning. Mayhaps i see you then.

Re: hello izzyw

Date: 2005-07-18 07:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Yeh, Jet Li was a national wushu champion when he was a kid. He's so damned awesome. :D

As for Taiji, I'm not sure where it's going to take me. I am training with a guy who takes a traditional approach, so it's going to toughen me up, at least! At the very least, I want to gain some structure and flavor that I can try and apply in wushu. Best case scenario would involve me entering a Taiji event when I compete again next year, but I'm not placing any bets on that yet. ^^;

WoW was fun yesterday! :D Winkle is now 27 and Bobble is 19. W00t!

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios