batskeets: (spoon)
[personal profile] batskeets
That? Is so, so true. I meet up with friends at the movies pretty often, and I do sometimes wind up saving a seat for the one or two members of the group who are running late. Thing is, I kind of dread the moment that someone comes up and asks if those seats are spoken for, because there really *is* no way to say it.

"Sorry, it's taken," usually gets you a dirty-ish look. "I'm sorry, I'm saving it for my friend/boyfriend," would garner about the same result. "Oh, my friend is sitting there and she just went to the bathroom and she'll be right back"? Yeah, same result.

So, you invariably wind up feeling like an asshat, because you told some guy that he couldn't have the seat, and now he's looking at you like you're Scum, because you're friends with someone who obviously must have a chronic lateness problem, because your friend's butt is not in that seat at THIS VERY MOMENT. Even if you arrived at the theater early enough to buy popcorn, empty out your bladder pre-movie, and park yourself in a good set of seats 20 minutes before said Guy even walked through the door, you are still a rat bastard, because you'd rather sit by your best friend than next to some guy who will probably fling popcorn on your shoes or answer his cell phone in the middle of the film.

Of course, not everyone is thinking these exact things, but when that Guy rolls his eyes slightly and wanders off to find a seat in the nosebleed section, you can't help but wonder. But, maybe that's only a problem if you're overly concerned about people hating you.

-------------------

In other news, [livejournal.com profile] dellswor flew out on Tuesday, and [livejournal.com profile] aleisha flew out early this morning. That week went by fast, yo! x_x It was pretty cool to have the whole bunch together again, doing dinners and biffing around every other night. I think I missed out on some stuff over the past couple of days, because I've been trying very hard to get my training schedule back to normal, on top of dealing with other parts of work and life. But, things were actually pretty good for a while there. :)

I'm going to try carrying my camera around wherever I go, for a while. Over the past few days, I've kept seeing things while I'm out and about and thinking of how I could make them into really cool photographs, only to realize that I didn't have my camera on hand. Of course, now that I'll be carrying my camera with me, I probably won't see anything photo-worthy. Sigh. ;p Well, let's hope.

Yesterday: went to yoga, made yummy soup, actually got to relax and play WoW for a little bit. As for right now, I have a meeting in 10, so I'm off.

Date: 2005-07-14 10:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xplo.livejournal.com
Dude. That happens to me ALL THE TIME.

Cyberpunk needs to happen now so we can all get camera implants.

Date: 2005-07-15 09:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] arabella-jin.livejournal.com
yes but do you care what joe Bloggs would think just because you save a seat for your friend?

Date: 2005-07-15 06:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skeets.livejournal.com
Heh, of course not :) It's just rather irritating how snitty some people can get over something as simple as a saved seat.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios