bleep!

May. 11th, 2005 05:35 pm
[personal profile] batskeets
It's Wednesday. ALL DAY!

I think I have pretty much decided: I will be training in Taiji and/or Wing Chun with this guy over the summer, while UO Wushu is on break. I have heard from people at the office and a few wushu/taiji luminaries, and he reportedly knows his stuff. I'm sure it'll be a different sort of challenge from wushu, but I'm looking forward to it anyway. :) Summer without wushu was painful last year, so hopefully I can at least get by with this.

Tee-vee blather follows! The usual spoiler warnings apply.

The Veronica Mars finale = GREAT. I knew Lilly's killer wasn't Donut, and I knew it wasn't Logan, but I have to admit that they got me with who *was* the killer--I didn't expect things to go that way. Oddly, my reaction when Logan's Dad's face popped up in the bedroom video was about the same as my reaction to Duncan's, "because YOU'RE MY SISTER!!" line last week--some very bizarre combination of "OMG EEEWWW NASTY" and "Holy crap, I can't believe the writers went there!" Apparently, the idea of Harry Hamlin doing the nasty is on par with incest. ^_-

I am rather happy that they basically "fixed" poor Donut--first the, "I'm not really your sister," and then the, "hey, you didn't actually kill Lilly!" Of course, they did send his dad to jail, but A) he has closure on the murder, B) he's not a killer, and C) he's not an incest-loving weirdo. I figure that's a net gain. :) On the other hand, the actor did a nice job acting completely nucking futs these past few episodes, so I kind of hope that Donut doesn't get bland-ified again next season.

I realize that they have to leave us hanging on *something* for next season (other than the mystery guest at the door), but did it HAVE to be the Logan/Weevil confrontation on the bridge?! Aaaaggh! They couldn't throw us an ittybitty bone as to whether Logan lives or dies??

Veronica's mom--not entirely unexpected, but heartbreaking, all the same.

Veronica's dad--Totally. Frickin'. Rocks. Totally called it that he wouldn't be wholeheartedly happy when the wife returned, but man, he rocked it front to back through the entire ep.

American Idol stupf, because I was biffing around the house again:

Anthony: He cleaned up his performances after last week, for sure, and it was definitely lacking all the bad pitches. His diction/pronunciation *is* rather weird for Soul, though, and he reeeeally needs to lay off of the sappy power ballads, because that shit's already getting tired, and I've only been actively watching for 2 weeks. It's good that he knows how to play to his own strengths and all, but jeez, some versatility, please? You seem like such a nice baby-faced Ukrainian boy, but you need more than one trick up your sleeve.

Bo: I liked his take on For the Love of Money, he rocked it from front to back! :) It was a lot of fun and he did good things with it, and he didn't sound all rawk-y this week, so definite bonus there. His country selection, however, was fairly ass. It's kind of a bland song to begin with, but at least Travis Tritt pulls it off, in his way. Bo's version felt really draggy, however, like he was basically being pulled along by the accompaniment for most of it. It was uninspired and bland and snooooooore. The second one was awesome, though, so he at least breaks even.

Carrie: I think the first song only went sorta-well because Country is her niche. I said this about Anthony last week, but she also lost some gusto on the low-notes with the first song. (maybe I'm just looking for that because I'm about as alto as they come? Heh ;p) It was fun, but it wasn't super. She did the same song as Anthony on the second go, and didn't do it as impressively. She might have benefitted from a key change or, you know, *something*. And what's all this "you know exactly who you are" stuff from the judges? Talk about throwaway commentary.

Vonzell: She crapped it up on the Trisha Yearwood song, for sure. I thought she suffered from the same problem as Bo, i.e. the accompaniment basically dragging her through the song. *And* she biffed up the lyrics at one point. She changed it up a bit from the original, though, so that at least got my attention more than Bo's country pick. Her second song was pretty solid, and she looked to be having some fun with it. Also, this is the dumbest thing to mention ever, but I *loved* her eyeshadow. ::rotfl:: Still, definitely not her best night.


Back to wushu tonight! Yaaaayyyy!

Date: 2005-05-12 01:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] divadrummer.livejournal.com
She really did have amazing eyeshadow. The bitch. If I put on hot pink eyeshadow, it just looks like I've been smoking pot all night or something.

Date: 2005-05-12 02:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] the-lizzel.livejournal.com
yeah, you should go train with that guy. david and i met him at the first try-out for international night last year. he's super old and mad flexible. his drop stance was so low that i couldn't believe i was seeing right. he's ancient! i wanted to train with him too. i'm sure it'll be mad cool. tell me how it goes.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios