[personal profile] batskeets
Man, I got busy yesterday, and totally didn't have a chance to finish my post. Blargh, apologies if this is long. (this is why I try to post on a daily basis--once the backlog in my brain starts to overflow, look out!)

SO! Weekend was pretty good. I went over to [livejournal.com profile] divadrummer's for a while and played some games, including the aforementioned Taiko No Tatsujin. (a.k.a. Taiko Drum Master) Y'all should know by now that I'm all up on Bemani-style games like a crack fiend, so I probably don't have to tell you whether I liked it or not. ::laughs:: It did take some getting used to, and a big factor in my crappier scores, at least initially, was the fact that I didn't hit the drum hard enough with my right hand. Ahhh yes, my left-hand dominancy comes around to bite me in the ass again! ::rotfl:: But I think I picked it up okay. Certainly better than my very first time playing DDR, anyway. :)

We also played Gitaroo Man, which is HARD, y'all. I now understand why [livejournal.com profile] sassanik made repeated comments on how weird/difficult it is, because it's true! Of course, part of the goal is to point the analog stick in the same direction that the music line is moving, and I have little-to-no finesse with controlling the analog stick, so that's probably a big part of why I suck so bad at it. ::rotfl:: The songs I heard in-game were pretty catchy, though. Also: Zelda: Four Swords is also pretty nifty. The alternating GBA/TV screen thing is interesting, and the graphics are so effin' cute.

Also: I want kitties nownownow. We already knew that, of course, but visiting with [livejournal.com profile] divadrummer's cats while I was there reminded me of that fact, *yet* again. :)

I also got my wish of a (late) dinner with friend-Os on Saturday night. Yay! :D I feel like I've missed a lot over the past few weeks, because of my more rigorous training schedule. Blah. Well, I only need to keep pushing extra-hard until April 2nd, so I guess I'll just hang in there for a bit longer.

Apartment stupf was also dealt with over the weekend, mostly. I still have to turn in some paperwork, but we're on the waiting list, so we should have a unit ready for us when our old lease is up. Yeee! I'm excited! And gah, I need more furniture. BTW, can anybody recommend a good mattress that is fairly soft and comfy, but still provides good support, and that won't break my bank?

I started my reading mentorship thing yesterday, and it was pretty good. The student I'm working with is not Japanese, as I'd suspected, but she's a nice kid. Kind of shy and bashful, in a way that reminds me of myself at that age, but we're getting along nicely, and we're actually kind of on the same page when it comes to reading. It should be good. :)

WoW Status Check, because I'm a damned dork:
Fizzywig - Lv. 21. Loves new daggers and bags. Equipment/outfit clashes so badly it'll burn out your retinas. Wants to give VC another go this weekend!
Winkletoes - Lv. 6. Loves new imp summoning spell and hand-me-down bags. Not enough equipment yet for anything to clash. Wants a robe that doesn't look like it was puked up by a kid who ate his box of Crayolas. Red would be nice.

I also love how I can currently play Winkletoes for like, 10 minutes, and she'll level up. This is probably just because I'm used to playing Fizzy, who now takes a lot longer to gain levels, but it's nice when you're short on time.

Enough blabbing! I'm off.

Date: 2005-03-09 11:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ghost-girl.livejournal.com
We were just talking about the shorter leveling up time with our alts earlier today. heh.

Also, dude, I went through VC the first time with one of our lvl 50 coworkers. Dude, all he had to do was look at them funny and they'd die, it was AWESOME. We just ran through it, following him and sometimes getting off like, one shot. heh. We just did the Stormwind Stockades with 5 people at lvl 32, which was similarly awesome.

Translation of the above for everyone else:
Dorkdorkdork. Dork. Dork.

Date: 2005-03-09 01:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] alleycatsphinx.livejournal.com
Kittehs for teh win!

Date: 2005-03-09 04:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] the-lizzel.livejournal.com
dude, i love gitaroo man! i used to play that game all the time when i was a sophomore and i took me forever to beat the three skeleton guys, but i finally conquered that game. woo hoo!

and four swords is cool too. it was probably the first game we got here in japan, but it's incredibly hard to play in japanese. duh... we should've thought about that before we purchased final fantasy: crystal chronicles too, but it just seemed like a cool idea at the time.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios