batskeets: (spoon)
[personal profile] batskeets
Awww yea, I'm back. Well, I was back kind of late last night, actually, but I didn't go online.

Anyway, recap is forthcoming. I downloaded pictures and such from my camera last night, but I didn't have the time or inclination to put them online yesterday. I was tired, and there were Joan of Arcadia and Stargate episodes on the TiVo, okay? ;p So right now, I tell you nothing! NOOOOTHING! ::rotfl:: But no, seriously, as soon as I have pictures up, I'll do the ol' recap.

I might even put up some video, too! Yes, I think I may have figured out what the problem was with the quicktime videos my camera takes. So hey, I can actually give you guys an idea of WTF wushu actually looks like. :)

-----------

I've heard and read things every so often, over the past few months, that have involved people who, for whatever reason, allow other people to give them a wholly unreasonable amount of crap. Sometimes it's wildly unreasonable expectations, sometimes it's just being involved with the wrong kind of person, sometimes it's something bordering on emotional abuse. But whatever it is, it's the kind of thing where I find myself thinking, "I would never put up with that kind of garbage from anyone."

And yet, I realize that, given my previous track record, I'll *never* have to put up with that kind of garbage. I do have a fairly laid-back, flexible, and sometimes-mutable personality. There have also definitely been extended periods in my past when I had no idea what I wanted for myself. I suppose that I might seem like the kind of person who, at one point in my life or another, would have been easy to manipulate, abuse, and/or generally take a crap on.

However, I never seem to find myself in that kind of position, because I apparently was born with some kind of Bad Person Radar that allows me to spot and avoid the kind of people who *would* take advantage of the weaker points in my persona. There have been times in the past when people have asked me why I don't hang out with someone, or make friends with someone, or whatever else. I'll say that something seems "off" about them, or I'll feel like I shouldn't trust them or get entangled with them... and then a few days, or weeks, or months later, something will happen that proves my instinct to be exactly right.

I'm not sure why I'm so good at that, while other people get pulled into bad situations repeatedly. My judgment is not perfect by any means, but I seem to be good at sizing up a person's character without having much other knowledge about them. But, that fact also makes it kind of easy for me to sit on my fluffy white cloud and wonder why people allow others to treat them horribly, when I haven't really been in that position myself.

I have to wonder, at times, what I would do if I had the unfortunate luck of getting involved with the wrong person. If I had a friend who constantly and cruelly took advantage of my good intentions, or if I had a significant other who treated me like worthless trash, would I have any idea what to do or say to put an end to it? Obviously, I'd be out of any situation where physical abuse occurred in 5 seconds flat, but how would I know when the level of mental or emotional anguish was beyond the point of being reasonable? It's easy to say, "trust your instincts," but that doesn't always work when you don't *have* good instincts to begin with. How do we really know if we would do the right thing, if we haven't been tested?

Whatever the situation is, whether we have good instincts or not, whether we like or love the person or not, I hope we all have the strength to do the right thing, and the wisdom to know when we should do that thing.

-----------

In other news, This is SO FUNNY. Probably not as much so, if you haven't had much exposure to anime fandom, but OH GOD, it kills me. XD

Anyway, rargh. Lots of stuff to do today. First day back, and all, but hopefully it won't be too trying. More later!

Date: 2005-02-28 12:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] alleycatsphinx.livejournal.com


All that needs to be said, really.

Date: 2005-02-28 09:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] twinki79.livejournal.com
being one of those people who had only been in bad relationships with bad people, I can say it's hard to see it sometimes. I've been verbally/emotionally abused, cheated on, and lied to. But until it goes too far, you tend to make excuses for what's going on and trying to justify their behavior.

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:02 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios