batskeets: (yan!)
[personal profile] batskeets
Well, [livejournal.com profile] alleycatsphinx was kind enough to hang out with me, so I wound up having a pretty fun evening. I took a nice, laid-back walk across campus to go to Sushi Night... apparently the walk was a little too lesiurely, though, because I was too late for the special sushi they had ordered from Shiki. And the student-made sushi looked like it was filled with natto, of all things... WTF?? I'm not a fan of natto, but I did get to eat some Inari-zushi, which was *very* tasty.

And then, as part of the entertainment, there was a little DDR contest, and you know that I tend to come running when DDR is happening. :) I had some problems early on with the soft pads, but I ended up taking first and winning a $25 gift certificate to Shoji's. Now, I just have to figure out when I'm going to use it.

At that point, Chris and I took off to go see Kill Bill 2, which rocked my socks--more story than the first movie, which, of course, wins points with me. I do have a greater appreciation for fight scenes now that I know more about martial arts, but I will *always* crave the back story most. :) And I was So. Completely. OWNED by the Pai Mei chapter!! I don't even have words; it just cracked me up, and now I suddenly want to have a kung fu movie marathon. ::rotfl::

Tomorrow, my peanut sauce craving will finally be answered, because [livejournal.com profile] junsiew invited me out for Thai food!

I must say, I'm enjoying being around new(er) people, as of late. Not only is it fun to spend time around different people who vibe with different parts of my personality, but I also feel like it heightens my appreciation of the closer friends that I see more frequently, too. I definitely need to get off my butt and continue this trend.

Speaking of which, let me know if you're coming along on Thursday and/or Saturday! :)

Anyway, the rest of my evening has involved making dinner and watching Iron Chef America, the latter of which has been kind of a mixed bag, so far. I do like that they tried to continue the Iron Chef mythos and link Chairman Kaga to it and everything, and Alton Brown is doing good work as the culinary commentator, especially considering he has to basically do Fukui *and* Hattori's job at the same time.

But, on the other hand, A) the new floor commentator doesn't know *shit* about food, especially compared to Ohta, B) Bobby Flay is still a jerk and doesn't deserve to win over Sakai, and C) even with the copious mentions of Kaga, there's still NO CHAIRMAN KAGA! I can't think of a man in the world who could pull off those fruity sequined-and-feathered outfits with so much style! Sigh, so sad.

Anyway, I'm off, because I have Thai food to enjoy, and work to do tomorrow.

Date: 2004-04-25 09:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kelaar.livejournal.com
DId you ever see the Iron Chef America with William Shatner as the chairman? It was pretty funny. I thought the whole concept tanked though. It's cool they have it going still.

Date: 2004-04-25 11:01 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] alleycatsphinx.livejournal.com
Yes, I'm coming thursday and possibly saturday!

In other news, you need to see Fist of Legend. Why? Because:

Date: 2004-04-25 03:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] addiew.livejournal.com
ill be there thursday!

March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213 1415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios